Research Guides: RELG 111: Introduction to Hinduism (HC): Home

Encyclopedias

All of the resources in this section provide an article on a topic as well as suggesting other books and articles for futher reading.

Encyclopedia of religion
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 2005. Note that some of the articles and bibliographies have not been updated since the 1987 edition. Also available in print format. Provides good introductory articles with suggestions for further reading.
Brill's encyclopedia of Hinduism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
4 volume encyclopedia. Has book chapter length entries on many topics (religious groups, concepts, gods and goddesses etc.). Each entry ends with a significant bibliography to lead you to other sources. Check the table of contents for the topics covered.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Entries are short but have suggestions for further reading.

Oxford bibliographies online. Hinduism
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is only a bibliography. It is arranged by topic and provides suggestions for general background as well as more specialized aspects of the topic.

The Hindu world
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter length entries on various key aspects of Hinduism. However does not have suggestions for further reading.

Email Me

Contact:

Magill Library

610-896-2976

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English Literature, French & Francophone Studies, Spanish, Writing Program