Research Guides: EALC 225: Chinese Fiction in the Twentieth Century (BMC): Indexes

Specialized Literary Indexes

MCLC RESOURCE CENTER
Lists research on individual writers. Prepared by the MCLC RESOURCE CENTER. (Modern Chinese Literature and Culture). Citations of articles about a writer are arranged alphabetically and do not have summaries.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent place to start your research. The entries on authors feature a biographical/critical essay as well as other features such as listings of interviews, biographies, works in English and bibliographies of secondary research.Click on the tab "Browse Volumes" and select "Chinese Fiction Writers, 1900-1949. Vol. 328" or "Chinese Fiction Writers, 1950-2000. Vol. 370" to see what authors are featured in essays. You can also search by your author.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides biographies, bibliographies and scholarly articles on novelists, poets, essayists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of highly-studied authors.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles. Journals are indexed from the most recent issue on back four to seven years.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to 1) find materials on your topic; 2) find other materials that cite a particular article or book.

Tripod: Articles
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Many of the results are available full text.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Does not have abstracts and subject headings tend to be very broad.