Skip to main content

POLS 151: International Politics (HC)

Political Science 151: International Politics (Mendelsohn) Spring 2013

Finding Journal Articles

The core list of journals in the next tab represents the titles to be used for your literature review assignment.  
Many are available online through Haverford library subscriptions.  
Those that are not owned by Haverford can be gotten through Article Request.  

You can browse or search the contents of individual journals, including those not available at Haverford from the list on this guide.  

You can also search all of the journals together through a database covering political science scholarship.  See the box below for more details about using Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

Either way you search, spending a little time looking through these journals will give you a sense of issues under current discussion and a better understanding of the literature of international relations.

Journal Indexes

Databases allow you to search for journal articles by subject.  When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as in JSTOR and Proquest), use the Find It button   to check for Haverford's holdings.

See the Search Tips tab for examples of ways to develop terminology and construct search statements.

 Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

                  

Use Worlwide Political Science Abstracts to locate articles which deal with your topic (sovereignty, oil politics, the Arab uprising, and NATO) and come from one of the 34 core journals

On the search page, choose the link for Command Line under the Advanced Search heading and paste in the code below.  Each of the eight digit numbers identifies one of the journals on your recommended list.

(IS=1303-5525 OR IS=0003-0554 OR IS=0748-8599 OR IS=0010-8367 OR IS=1354-0661 OR IS=0015-7120 OR IS=0015-7228 OR IS=1743-8586 OR IS=0020-5850 OR IS=0305-0629 OR IS=0020-7020 OR IS=0020-8183 OR IS=0162-2889 OR IS=1528-3577 OR IS=0020-8833 OR IS=1521-9488 OR IS=0022-0027 OR IS=0022-197X OR IS=0305-8298 OR IS=0030-4387 OR IS=1537-5927 OR IS=0032-3195 OR IS=0260-2105 OR IS=0967-0106 OR IS=0963-6412 OR IS=1057-610X  OR IS=0039-6338 OR IS=0954-6553 OR IS=0143-6597 OR IS=0163-660X OR IS=0043-8871 OR IS=1384-5748 OR IS=0047-1178 OR IS=0022-3816 OR IS=1094-2939) and SU(sovereignty)


Replace the subject phrase SU(sovereignty) at the end of this string with your chosen topic:


SU(petroleum) and SU(politic*)

(ALL("arab spring") or ALL("arab uprising"))

SU(nato)

Getting Articles not at Haverford

Examples of Recent Journal Articles

Does Democracy Need Sovereignty

Author: Tansey, Oisin

Source: Review of International Studies, Volume 37, Number 4, October 2011 , pp. 1515-1536

Abstract:

Non-state entities that aspire to statehood are increasingly developing democratic norms and practices, in part to enhance their claims for independence. However, the prospects for democracy in cases of 'problematic sovereignty' are little understood. This article seeks to explore the important but under-explored relationship between sovereignty and democracy, and in particular to assess the extent to which sovereignty is, or is not, a prerequisite for democracy. The article advances two arguments. First, it argues that there is no clear-cut relationship between sovereignty and democracy, as sovereignty is a complex concept that is comprised of several important, and distinct, constituent elements. Second, the article argues that the legal recognition of statehood (international legal sovereignty) is of marginal importance in this area, and should not be seen as a necessary condition for democratic rule. The article examines the process of democratic transition in the non-state entity of Somaliland to provide empirical support. Adapted from the source document.

Full text PDF

 

Oil and the question of federalism in Iraq

Author: Alkadiri, Raad

Source: International Affairs, Volume 86, Number 6, Nov 2010, pp.  1315-1328

Abstract:

The 'oil question' in Iraq has traditionally been viewed almost exclusively through the prism of ethno-sectarianism. Disputes over the management and licensing of the hydrocarbon sector and over revenue distribution have been seen as a battle for power between Iraq's ethnic and sectarian communities, as if these were monolithic entities. This has led to a conviction-especially among US policy-makers in post-war Iraq-that solving the problem lies in a simple formula of apportioning control of the sector to decentralized authorities and dividing revenue proportionally. This view ignores the fact that disagreements over management of the sector and over revenue distribution reflect a deeper dispute that cuts across ethno-sectarian lines. In reality, disputes are driven far more by the as-yet-unresolved issue of whether ultimate sovereign authority in Iraq lies with the central government or should be decentralized to regional and provincial governments. As the main source of revenue in Iraq, control over the oil and gas sector is critical to the success of these rival agendas. Consequently, compromise has been impossible to achieve, and neither side is willing to make concessions for fear of threatening their long-term ambitions. parties in the aftermath of the recent elections may provide some temporary respite to the oil and gas dispute, as Arab leaders in Baghdad seek to co-opt the support of Kurdish parties to form a new coalition government. But an accommodation over the federalism question in Iraq still seems out of reach. This will not only hamper the legislative process and effective government in the coming years, but could also threaten stability, particularly along the fragile border that separates the Kurdistan Region from the rest of Iraq. Adapted from the source document.

Get through Article Request

 

Is the New Middle East Stuck in Its Sectarian Past?  The Unspoken Dimension of the "Arab Spring" 

Author: Guzansky, Y. And Berti, B.

Source: Orbis, Volume 57, Number 1, Jan. 2013 , pp. 135-151

Abstract:

This article focuses on the impact of the Arab Spring on pre-existing societal cleavages, specifically analyzing its impact on Sunni-Shiite relations. How have Sunni-Shiite relationships been reshaped by the ongoing social protests? Is there a rise in the inter-religious tensions among Sunni and Shiite communities across the region? And, if that is the case, what are the implications of this trend on both the region's potential for democratization, as well as on its overall stability and security? All rights reserved, Elsevier

Full text PDF

 


Explaining States' Burden-Sharing Behaviour within NATO

Author: Oma, Ida

Source: Cooperation and Conflict, Volume 47, Issue 4 (Dec. 2012), pp. 562-573

Abstract:

This article reviews the state of literature relevant to states' burden-sharing behaviour within NATO. The purpose is two-fold: first, to delineate the different dependent variables and evaluate whether important questions have been left untreated, and, second, to assess strengths and weaknesses of the explanations that have been proffered. It is argued that while the system-level explanations capture major incentives to contribute, the domestic-level explanations are necessary in understanding specific decision-outcomes. The existing integrative models are superior to each explanation or level of analysis individually but tend to portrait domestic leaders as rather passive registers of international and domestic pressures. Empirically speaking, it is argued that more studies of contributions to distinct events, i.e. NATO operations, are needed, particularly focusing on cases of small states. The dependent variable of form of contributions is seemingly the least explored and may require incorporation of other theoretical arguments than utilized in existing works. [Reprinted by permission of Sage Publications Ltd., copyright NISA.]

Full text PDF