ICPR 244: Quaker Social Witness (HC) [Spring 2015]: Equality

Letters to Benjamin Coates (1808-1887), an American Quaker reformer, relating to the emigration of free Blacks to the West African colony of Liberia and establishment of Liberian institutions. Collection 1190. Primary Resource.

The collection consists of correspondence between the administrator of Emily Howland's estate, Richard C.S. Drummond, and representatives of 39 mostly southern African American educational institutions, as beneficiaries of her will. Collection 1164. Primary Resource.

This book reveals the Society's gradual transition from expressing doubt about slavery to adamant opposition. It shows that while progression toward this stance was ongoing, it was slow and uneven and that it was vigorous internal debate and discussion that ultimately led to a call for abolition. Secondary Resource.

Secondary Resource.

Interviews made by the American Friends Service Committee. Primary Resource.

Esther Rhoads (1896-1979), was a teacher and head of Friends Girls' School in Tokyo for over 50 years. She was also of great importance in work with Licensed Agencies for Relief in Asia and with the American Friends Service Committee, to assist Japanese-Americans affected by the War Relocation Act (evacuation and relocation). Collection 1153. Primary Resource.

In 1943, University of Washington student Gordon Hirabayashi defied the curfew and mass removal of Japanese Americans on the West Coast, and was subsequently convicted and imprisoned as a result. In A Principled Stand, his prison diaries and wartime correspondence to tell the story of Hirabayashi v. United States, the Supreme Court case that in 1943 upheld and on appeal in 1987 vacated his conviction. Gordon Hirabayashi was a Quaker. Secondary Resource.

This resource was created as a project of the Military Intelligence Service Association of Northern California so presents a broad context for the War Relocation Act. Secondary Resource.

The archive includes minutes of staff and boards of the institution originally called The Asylum for Persons Deprived of the Use of their Reason, later Friends Hospital, now called The Scattergood Foundation. Materials include the case of Morgan Hinchman who brought suit in 1849 against relatives and personnel of Friends Hospital for incarcerating him against his will. Collection 975A. Primary Resource.

Scattergood suffered from bouts of melancholia and depression and, after visiting The Retreat in England, was the first to involve Quakers with humane treatment of people so disturbed in America by founding Friends Hospital in Philadelphia. Collection 1100. Primary Resource.

The best resource to use to begin research in the topic. Secondary Resource.

This book introduces a new treatment model based on Quaker ideas and practices that can be used in conjunction with medical and psychological practice for treating manic-depressive illness. Secondary Resource.

This site has links to everything on the topic at Haverford and is a great place to browse.

Philadelphia Yearly Meeting sent three Friends: Joshua Sharpless, John Pierce and Isaac Coates “to make an attempt at civilizing some of the Indian Natives in the state of New York. These are their accounts. Collection 950. Primary Resources.

19th century photographs of the children and schools founded by Quakers in Oklahoma and Kansas. Collection 928. Primary Resource.

Barton makes a good presentation concerning the Friends School at Tunesassa. Secondary Resource.

An older resource but still classic. The author was Curator of the Haverford Quaker Collection so the cited resources are at Haverford. Secondary Resource.

This collection contains the letters of Carter Nash, a Quaker inmate of a federal correctional institution, regarding his religious beliefs and requests for books, 1999-2000, which eventually led to his publication of a September 2000 column in Quaker Life. Collection 950. Primary Resource.

The papers of Joshua Longstreth Baily, 1826-1916, a Philadelphia Quaker merchant, include his correspondence, speeches, notebooks and articles on topics relating to peace, penal reform, Philadelphia Yearly Meeting and contributions to African American causes. Collection 1032. Primary Resource.

Online and in paper. Secondary Resource

Also, a good resource for Womens' studies. Available online and in paper. Secondary Resource.

Julia A. Wilbur was an active anti-slavery and women’s rights proponent during the 19th century. In 1865 she moved
to Washington, DC where she became increasingly involved with the women’s rights movement and also took a job working in the U.S. Patent Office - the first woman
admitted to work in this office. Transcriptions are available online. Collection 1158. Primary Resource.

This book shows the dominant and unwavering role Paul played in the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment, granting the vote to American women. The dramatic details of Paul's imprisonment and solitary confinement, hunger strike, and force-feeding at the hands of the U.S. government illustrate her fierce devotion to the cause she spent her life promoting. Secondary Resource.

The American Friends Service Committee is presented and discussed. Secondary Resource.