Research Guides: HIST 231: Imagining Enlightenment in 18th-Century Europe (HC): Books and Journal articles

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a title search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

(luxury OR luxurious) AND 18th [Keyword]

(books and reading ) AND history [Subject ] AND (britain OR england) AND (18th OR enlightenment) [Keyword]

(france OR french) [Subject] AND (friendship OR sociability OR salon*) AND (17th OR 18th OR enlightenment) [Keyword]

Tripod Catalog
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod to find relevant scholarship owned by the tri-college libraries. Change the resource group on the search bar to limit results to specific materials like books and films.
Use the Request link in an item's record to have it delivered to the library of your choice . Note that you need to log into Tripod in order to see the Request link. If you are already in Tripod, use the Sign In link at the top of every page to log in..

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing beyond the Tri-Co
1. E-Z Borrow - Request books that are not available in Tripod. It usually takes three days or less for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.
2. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Request books not in E-Z Borrow. They can come in as little as four or five days. Also use ILL to request films, dissertations, sound recordings, and other materials.
3. Articles - Request journal articles not available in your college library. You will receive digital copies of the articles in your email sometimes as quickly as the following day.

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles provide scholarly information for your projects concerning the eighteenth-century

1) Because scholarly articles are peer reviewed and revised prior to publication, they offer reliable information that contributes to ongoing research questions.

2) Scholarly articles are also documented with footnotes that refer to the research question under discussion. Look at these notes for further potential sources..

The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles:

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Research Tip: Note the special search feature for time period. Enter the beginning and ending dates in the Year boxes for articles that cover only that range of time.

Bibliography of British and Irish history
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can limit results by time period.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers journal articles, essays and yearbooks in the fields of art history, architecture, and decorative arts .

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, open the Basic Search tab to find the Cited Reference Search link to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks. In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for material citing the title you have entered.
Bonus Google Scholar includes books in its results. Web of Science is limited to journal articles only.