Research Guides: ENGL 087: American Narrative Cinema (SC): Finding Film & TV Reviews

Movie Review Websites

Internet Movie Database This link opens in a new window
SEARCH TIP: Look under Opinion for "external reviews." Look for established sources!

Movie Review Intelligence
Analyzes movie reviews from more than 70 U.S. and Toronto newspapers, magazines, alternative weeklies, web sites and NPR. 2009-present.
MetaCritic.com
Provides reviews for both recent and earlier films, videos, music, books and games.
Movie Review Query Engine
Provides links to reviews for over 25,000 films. Registration required for access to some reviews. Updated regularly.

Finding Film Reviews in Databases

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly & popular journals, 1971-present.

SEARCH TIP: Limit by "document type" to review. Enter the title of the film in quotes.
New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851 to the current date.

SEARCH TIP: In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, limit by "document type" to "review", or "display ad" to find movie advertising. Limit by release date. Enter the title of the film in quotes.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper reviews and articles. 1980- current.

SEARCH TIP: Select "News" from the left menu. Select "All News." Select "Movie Reviews" under article type. Specify a date range.
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly & popular journals, 1864-present.

SEARCH TIP: Select "Search Articles." Limit by "Document Type" for Film Review or Television Review.
Screen Studies Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film Index International (1900- present), and the American Film Institute Catalog (1893 - 1974).

SEARCH TIP: Search for a film and see the references at the bottom.
The citations in this database will be listed in the following style: MPW 26 Mar 10, p377 (This citation means that a review appears in Moving Picture World, MARCH 26, 1910, p377.)
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General-interest periodicals from the U.S., 1890 - 1982.

SEARCH TIP: Add "Motion Picture Reviews" or "Television Program Reviews" to SUBJECT

Finding Older Revews - Print Indexes

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The critical index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1946-1973.
The film index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the early years of film up to 1936.
Film review index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 1: 1882-1949, Volume 2:1950-1985. Alphabetical by film title.
Index to critical film reviews in British and American film periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film periodicals from their beginning to 1971
An index to short and feature film reviews in the moving picture world
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the early years of film, 1907-1915.
The new film index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1930-1970.
The New York times film reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1913-1984
Retrospective index to film periodicals, 1930-1971
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected film criticism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1896-1960
Social sciences & humanities index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1965-1974
Variety film reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1907-1996.