Research Guides: ECON 396: International Economics (BMC): Data and Statistical Sources

Country-based Information

Country Statistical Yearbooks
List of online resources maintained by the University of Wisconsin.
Economist Intelligence Unit - Country Forecasts
To find Economist Intelligence Unit - Country Forecasts, search Tripod for ""Economist Intelligence Unit" . These forecasts give an historical overview + outlook for the coming year for various sectors and economic indicators.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Economic Surveys
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OECD’s periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Member country reviews are generally done on an 18 month cycle, while non-member reviews are done as agreed with the subject country. A minimum of 18 surveys are done each year. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with the challenges.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.

International Country Risk Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ICRG (International Country Risk Guide) Researcher's Dataset from the PRS Group comprises 22 variables in three subcategories of risk (political, financial, and economic), for 146 countries, over the period 1984 to the previous year. Data are annual averages of components published in the International Country Risk Guide.
Maddison Project Database
The Maddison Project Database provides information on comparative economic growth and income levels over the very long run. The 2020 version of this database covers 169 countries and the period up to 2018.

Multi-country Data and Statistics

BIS Statistics
Bank for International Settlement provides open access statistics on various aspects of the global financial system, including exchange rates and banking statistics. Also see the Annual Reports for discussions of general and country specific international economics issues.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides European Union statistics that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains time series data for most IMF members (over 200 countries) including data on a country's exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking accounts, interest rates, production, prices, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts as well as commodity and trade statistics. Also contains area and world tables for selected series.

International Monetary Fund
International yearbook of industrial statistics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The annual print versions of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) statistics (INDSTAT) are located in the Canaday Reference section (Floor 1) and on Floor B.
OECD Statistics
OECD iLibrary contains limited statistics and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF)
Penn World Table
The Penn World Table version 9.0 is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 182 countries between 1950 and 2014. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.

Statista: The Leading Statistics Portal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to selected statistics and studies of over 600 industries gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources from 2007 to the present.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
A single entry portal for UN databases. Find data series by searching or browsing by theme. Includes Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries to aid research. All countries and a wide range of themes are covered.

World Bank Data Catalog
In addition to World Development Indicators, the World Bank provides access to a large number of datasets.

Trade Data Sources

Direction of trade statistics
Provides data on the country and area distribution of countries' exports and imports by their partners.
Observation of Economic Complexity (OEC)
Visualizes bilateral trade data for roughly 200 countries, covering 50 years and 1,000+ products/goods
UN Comtrade
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) contains detailed bilateral trade statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year. Individual trade partner data can be accessed here.
U.S. International Trade Commission
The ITC research tools section has data tools for finding import/export and tariff data. Also useful: the U.S. Harmonized Tariff Schedule online reference guide
World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
World Bank portal to data on trade and tariffs. This pulls data from WDI, UN Comtrade, WTO, and others into a user-friendly interface. Includes a detailed custom query engine that can be accessed by creating a free WITS account.
World Trade Organization (WTO) Statistics Database
WTO statistics database with trade profiles, tariff profiles, services profiles and, time series for the interactive retrieval of international trade statistics by reporting country/economic union.
More sources for International Trade data
Gathered by a librarian at Carleton. Most are freely available online, a few are only accessible by Carleton students.

China-related sources

China Data Online
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. BRYN MAWR subscribes to the statistical modules only.
China Statistical Yearbook (Zhongguo tong ji nian jian 中国统计年鉴)
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive statistical yearbook on China's national-level social and economic indicators. It has provincial-level data. Some print copies available on all 3 campuses.

National Bureau of Statistics of China 中华人民共和国国家统计局
Provides a variety of economic indicators recorded on a monthly, quarterly, or yearly basis. Coverage varies, but many aggregates statistics are available back to the mid-1990s. NOTE: Data linked to the online version of the China Statistical Yearbook is best accessed with Internet Explorer.

China Academic Journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text database of Chinese journals.
BMC and SC subscribed collections: Literature/History/Philosophy and Politics/Military Affairs/Law.
HC subscribed collection: Literature/History/Philosophy.

The Oxford Companion to the Economics of China (2014)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This Oxford Companion to the Economics of China presents a new collection of perspectives on the Chinese economy's past, present and future.
Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Economy (2014)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Economy is an advanced-level reference guide which surveys the current economic situation in China and its integration into the global economy. An internationally renowned line-up of scholars contribute chapters on the key components of the contemporary economy and their historical foundations. Topics covered include: the history of the Chinese economy from ancient times onwards; economic growth and development; population, the labor market, income distribution, and poverty; legal, political, and financial institutions; and foreign trade and investments.

ECON 396: International Economics (BMC)

Related Research Guide

Other lists of International Econ data

Country-based Information

Multi-country Data and Statistics

China-related sources