Research Guides: ECON 396: International Economics (BMC): Scholarly Works

Economics and Public Policy Databases

EconLit
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.
JSTOR
Limit your search to journals in Economics and "International Relations". Journal coverage in JSTOR usually does not include the most recent 3-5 years.
PolicyFile Provides access to articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Covers a wide range of topics from international trade to health care reform, from telecommunications regulation to terrorism. Most content is NOT peer-reviewed.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.

American Economic Association Journals website
The AEA provides free access to important journals like the Journal of Economic Literature and the Journal of Economic Perspectives. This can be especially useful for recently published issues.
China Economic Review
International Economic Review
Note that the most recent issues are available if you use the Wiley link.
Journal of International Economics (JIE)
World Bank Economic Review

Economist Intelligence Unit - White Papers
"The EIU’s white papers provide practical business information on a wide range of topics, from macroeconomic events and country affairs to the latest industry trends."
IDEAS / RePeC - Repository of Economic Literature
• Great tool for finding the latest economic research, including working papers
• Somewhat harder to do complex searches than in EconLit

Note: If you can't access a full article PDF (without paying), remember to search Tripod - the library may provide access to the article.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is an open access repository that collects conference papers, journal article pre-prints and working papers in the social sciences. This is a good place to find very recent material.
Working Paper Series (National Bureau of Economic Research)
NBER Working Papers is published by National Bureau of Economic Research, the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization. Approximately 500 working papers are published each year and comprise an important source of information on a broad range of economic topics. Available online from 1973-present.

United Nations University WIDER Working Papers
"The United Nations University World Institute for Development Economics Research provides economic analysis and policy advice with the aim of promoting sustainable and equitable development for all."

Google Scholar Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Provides nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters in the social sciences from 1951-present. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.
ProQuest Research Library Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
ProQuest Social Science Database This database, formerly known as "ProQuest Social Science Journals" provides citations and abstracts to articles from about 450 social sciences periodicals. Full-text/images are available for over 200 of the periodicals indexed. Coverage from 1994 to present.
Web of Science Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.