BIOL Senior Thesis and Research Project Guide (SC)

There are additional books covering writing style, research and more upstairs in Cornell's stacks under QH304.

The Bibliography is arranged alphabetically at the end of the paper. When referring to the item in the body of the paper, use the In-Text style. These examples are in the Name-Year format.

Journal Article (Print):

Bibliography:
Xue M, Reim K, Chen X, Chao HT, Deng H, Rizo J, Brose N, Rosenmund C. 2007. Distinct domains of complexin I differentially regulate neurotransmitter release. Nat Struct Mol Biol 14 (10): 949–958 

In-Text:

(Smith 1970) – for articles with one author  

(Smith and Dawson 1982) – for articles with two author  

(Xue et al. 2007) – for articles with more than two authors

Journal Article (Online)

Bibliography:

Hong P, Wong W. 2005. GeneNotes: a novel information management software for biologists. BMC Bioinformatics [Internet]. [cited 2007 Jul 24]; 6:20. Available from: http://www.biomedcentral.com/1471-2105/6/20  

In-Text:
(Hong and Wong 2005)

Book (Print):

Bibliography:
Ridgway SH, Harrison R. 1999. Handbook of marine mammals. Volume 6, The second book of dolphins and the porpoises. San Diego (CA): Academic Press.

In text:

(Ridgway and Harrison 1999)

Book (Electronic):

Bibliography:

Griffiths AJF, Miller JH, Suzuki DT, Lewontin RC, Gelbart WM. c2000. Introduction to genetic analysis [Internet]. 7th ed. New York (NY): W. H. Freeman & Co.; [cited 2005 May 31]. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=iga.

In text:

(Griffiths et al. 2000)

Web Site

Bibliography:
APSnet: plant pathology online [Internet]. c1994-2005. St Paul (MN): American Phytopathological Association: [cited 2005 Jun 20]. Available from: http://www.apsnet.org/

In-Text:
(APSnet 2005)

Government Report:

Bibliography:

Schick RS, Edsall AL, Lindley ST. 2005. Historical and current distribution of Pacific salmonids in the Central Valley, CA. Santa Cruz (CA): US Department of Commerce, National Marine Fisheries Service, Santa Cruz Laboratory. Report nr NOAA Technical Memorandum NMFS-SWFSC-369.

In-Text:

(Schick et al. 2005)

Conference Proceeding:

Bibliography:

Lee DJ, Bates D, Dromey C, Xu X, Antani S. An imaging system correlating lip shapes with tongue contact patterns for speech pathology research. In: Krol M, Mitra S, Lee DJ, editors. CBMS 2003. Proceedings of the 16th IEEE Symposium on Computer-Based Medical Systems; 2003 Jun 26027; New York. Los Alamitos (CA): IEEE Computer Society; c2003. P.307-313

In-Text:

(Lee et al. 2005)