BIOL Senior Thesis and Research Project Guide (SC)
This guide is designed to point you toward a variety of resources, both electronic and in print, that should help you with your biology thesis/project research. It is also general enough to help you with most other biology research.
This multidisciplinary database can be searched by subject, author, and journal title. Articles that CITE a known author or work can also be searched. Cited reference searching helps identify more recent articles on the same topic. Coverage for the Science Citation Index in WofS goes back to 1900. Works seamlessly with Endnote for organizing & formatting your citations!
Offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of materials including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports and patents. Fields covered include biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Covers 1982-present.
Use the "Check Tripod" and "Find it @ Swarthmore" links to see if we have access to full text. GS also often provides full-text access to articles in journals to which we don't actually subscribe - so get in the habit of copying & pasting title articles in to GS (use "QUOTES" so GS treats the title as a phrase!). Look for a PDF in right column, or check "All x versions" - there will often be access to full-text via one of these versions. If you try this trick in GOOGLE, be sure to add 'PDF' to your search!
Provides information on materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library including books, journals, government documents, audiovisual and other materials. Areas include agricultural economics, chemistry and rural sociology. Covers 1970-present.
A great source of critical review articles. This link will take you to the page that will give you access to ALL 41 AR series, but you can narrow your search down to a specific subject area like Ecology, Microbiology, Neuroscience and much more. Each article is also a great source of primary research citations.
JSTOR provides full-text to hundreds of journal titles in Biological Sciences, Plant Sciences, Ecology, Environmental Science, Zoology and more. While JSTOR offers access to a journal beginning with the FIRST volume, it may not cover the most recent 3-5 years of the journal. So be sure to check date coverage when you search JSTOR!
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. The library now is 'subscribing' to most Elsevier journals on a PER ARTICLE basis. So if you find an article you would like to read, press the PURCHASE button. BUT - check GOOGLE SCHOLAR first, as you might find a FREE version of the article in a university or college archive!