Skip to main content

HIST 156: The Long 1960s (BMC)

History 156: (Ullman) Fall 2018

Books

Finding Books & Book Reviews

Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Primary Sources Online

Finding Primary Sources Online

Large numbers of historical books, pamphlets, newspapers and manuscripts are now available online, some through free sites and some only through subscriptions.  

 

The contents of the free sites can often be found through Google searches, while the contents of the subscription sites can usually be found only by going directly to the site.  Listed below are some major historical collections to which Bryn Mawr, Haverford or Swarthmore subscribe.

 

For a more complete list of online primary sources, see the Tri-College Libraries page for History-Primary Sources .

Historical Newspapers & Journals

Historical Books, Manuscripts & Documents

Archives and Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections

Many archives now have guides to their collections on the web, which means that it is often easiest to find the historical records of an organization or person by doing a Google search on the name and adding the word "archive."

The Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore libraries all have Special Collections departments with extensive historical collections.

** REMEMBER TO BRING YOUR PHOTO ID WHEN VISITING !**

Finding Other Collections

Citations - Chicago Style

Examples - Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Get Help! Ask a Librarian

Get Help! Librarians

Eric Pumroy
Africana Studies, History, East Asian Studies, Philosophy

Arleen Zimmerle
English, Creative Writing, Film Studies, Performing Arts

 

EMAIL: Ask a Librarian - Email us your questions  or make an appointment.

IN PERSON:

Most librarians are available M-F, 9am to 5pm. Ask at any library front desk to speak with a research librarian, or make an appointment.