Research Guides: Maps & Geography: Census & Government Info

Census & Government Information

Social Explorer
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.

TIGER Files
TIGER is the name for the system and digital database developed by the U.S. Census Bureau. The files are a digital database of geographic features, such as roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, legal boundaries and census statistical boundaries. These files can be used to produce maps ranging in detail from a neighborhood street map to a map of the United States.
DataPlace
This site contains demographic data and uses data sets from multiple sources. It also provides tools and guides to assist in analyzing and interpreting data.
Geospatial Data Gateway
A product of the United States Department of Agriculture, this site allows users to navigate an area of interest and browse, select and download data on natural resources or environmental data.
Land Cover Institute
Users can get landcover data and use an interactive map of the United States to access state facts and land cover descriptions.
EnviroMapper/EnviroFacts
This site from the U.S. Enviromental Protection Agency allows users to search for enviromental related data from the EnviroFacts database and then map that data using the EnviroMapper.

Explore Census Data
Provides population, housing, economic and geographic data from the latest Decennial Census, the Economic Censuses and Surveys, and the American Community Survey. Users can view reference maps and create comparison tables and thematic maps which can be downloaded and printed. Coverage varies.

National Atlas
Create maps based on geospatial and geostatistical data collected for the United States. The site also allows users to download raw data for personal map making needs.
Geodata.gov: US Maps & Data
A portal for one-stop access to maps, data and other geospatial services.
National Geologic Map Database
A project of the United States Geological Survey, this site contains maps and data about geology, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry and marine geology.
NationMaster
Compare countries using maps and graphs and search their huge database of world statistics.
StateMaster
Compare states using maps and graphs and search their huge database of U.S. statistics