PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.
Offers access to thousands of 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America. Also includes historical maps of Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania, and the world. Includes maps at various levels of specificity (e.g., city, country, continent). Coverage varies; new maps are added continually.
Provides more than 11,000 digital images produced from originals in the map collections of the University of Texas. Physical, political, historical, topical and thematic maps from nearly every region in the world are included.
Hypercities is a globally-oriented platform that reaches deeply into archival collections and aggregates a wide range of media content (including broadcast news, photograph archives, 3D reconstructions, user-created maps, oral histories, GIS data, and community stories). Currently includes partners for Los Angeles, New York, Chicago, Rome, Lima, Ollantaytambo, Berlin, Tel Aviv, Tehran, Saigon, Toyko, Shanghai, Seoul.
An interesting source for exploring late 19th century US Census data. Published in 1870, 1880, and 1890 (reborn as the Census Atlas in 2000), the Statistical Atlas offers visualizations of Census data related to population, religion, ethnicity, education, and more.
The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying" or "georectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps or assist the NYPL by aligning a map. Watch a video to tour the site and learn how to rectify a map yourself.