Tripod's Articles section searches millions of journal articles, many of them in full text and available through the Tri-College Libraries. While it doesn't provide access to everything the library has to offer, it is a good starting point for your searches.
Scholarly articles on the history and sociology of sports are indexed in many places, so it may be best to start with an aggregated search like Tripod - Articles, or Google Scholar.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles on United States and Canadian history. (For articles on non-US history topics, search the Historical Abstracts database instead.)
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Covers 1970-present.
Digital resources include academic journals, scholarly books, popular sports magazines of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, and an extensive offering of Olympic publications.
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Find scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazine articles, and reports in the areas of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse, and more. International in scope.
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
