This three volume set features essay-length chapters rather than short encyclopedia articles. The authors are leading scholars who write insightful, lively analyses that help readers understand the importance of the issues.
In this subject encyclopedia over 180 scholars have written articles on 16th and 17th century European science. Topics of interest include patronage, scientific societies, education, political theory, and biographies of scientists. Brief bibliographies accompany each article.
This new subject encyclopedia includes articles on topics as well as important figures. Bibliographies at the ends of articles are often extensive. Note the cross references that refer to related articles for additional information.
This collection of short bibliographic essays addresses questions of historiography and the most reliable secondary sources. While many of the articles address topics from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, others focus on the Middle Ages or early modern period. This guide is useful for sorting out the most significant scholarly writings on an issue.
This set addresses the varied social impacts of science, medicine, and technology. Volume Two focuses on the Middle Ages and Volume Three covers 1450-1699. Both volumes are divided into broad science categories with relevant biographical sketches for each section.
Comprehensive reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Contains illustrations and maps. Most entries offer bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.
This two-volume set analyzes a broad range of crucial topics and provides select bibliographies of authoritative sources. Essays of special interest include:
"A Revolution in Information" Vol. 1, 244-265
"Royal Courts" Vol. 2, 440-477