Research Guides: HIST 240: History and Principles of Quakerism (HC) Spring 2019: Finding Journal Articles

Journal Indexes

The databases below allow you to search for journal articles by subject. When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as in JSTOR and Proquest), use the Find It button to check for Haverford's holdings.

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, reviews and essays on United States and Canadian history in all time periods.

Bibliography of British and Irish History
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, essays and books dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can specify ranges of time in your search.

Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to alternative news sources including radical and left journals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
American Periodicals Series Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine to America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. Quaker magazines include: The Friend (1827-1906), Friends Intelligencer (1853-1910) and Friends Review (1847-1894). You can add the title of these magazines to your search for a topic:
Friends Intelligencer - Publication Title
AND slave* - Anywhere
1844-1869 - LIMIT to Publication Dates
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and many full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Good to use as a first step.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and more, in the core areas of women's studies.

Recommended Journals for Quaker Studies

Some scholarly journals devote all or many of their pages to Quaker-related research. You can see the latest scholarship by browsing the journal titles below. The journal websites also offer searches of the full-text articles, so that you can find material about people, ideas and other topics of interest.

Quaker History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This scholarly journal publishes articles on the history of the Society of Friends from its origins through the present day. It also includes book reviews in each issue.
Journal of the Friends Historical Society
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Issues from 1903-2013 are available on the journal's website.
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes articles and book reviews concerned with Pennsylvania history. Quakers played and continue to play an important role in the region.
Quaker Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Quaker Studies is a multi-disciplinary journal. It is sponsored by the Quaker Studies Association in the U. K.
William and Mary Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of record in the field of early American history, publishing articles on North America and the Atlantic world through 1820.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, open the Basic Search tab to find the Cited Reference Search link to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk Ex. lapsansky* e*
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box Ex. 2003
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck the subject area/s that are not relevant, e.g. Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles. Ex. Quaker Aesthetics
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks. In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for material citing the title you have entered.
Bonus Google Scholar includes books in its results. Web of Science is limited to journal articles only.

HIST 240: History and Principles of Quakerism (HC) Spring 2019

Why Use Journal Articles?

Originality. Provides new evidence and interpretations.

Authoritativeness. Written by researchers for their peers.

Documentation. Cites key scholarship in footnotes that you can check.

Reliability. Reviewed by editors for significance and accuracy.

Conciseness. Presents an argument directly since length is often limited to 40 pages or less.

Engagement. Responds to issues and adds to an ongoing dialog.

Currency. Treats recent issues more quickly than books due to publishing schedules

Journal Indexes

Recommended Journals for Quaker Studies

Tracking Citations Forward in Time