Research Guides: *Sociology*: Other Primary Data

Public Opinion Data

Afrobarometer
An independent, nonpartisan research project measuring the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more than 20 African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, country reports, and publications.
Eurobarometer
The European Commission monitors and reports public opinion in the E.U. Data concerns citizenship, social issues, health, culture, information technology, the environment, and the Euro. Provides opinion data twice yearly. Information is available for individual countries, regional groups, and the entire EU.
Gallup
Reports, infographics and articles from Gallup opinion polls. Does not include dataset downloads or survey methodology files.
Latinobarómetro
Provides summary level public opinion data for Latin American countries for the period 1995- . Latinobarómetro surveys are conducted in more than 18 Latin American countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, country reports, and publications.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a think think that conducts public opinion polling and other social science research. Several of the Publications sub-topics include a Question Search, and downloadable datasets.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (iPOLL)
Find results from US national public opinion surveys (1935-present). Includes public opinion research from 120+ countries. Use this database to find polls from Gallup, Pew, and more.

You can:
- Search iPOLL to find individual survey questions and answers
- Compare public opinion over time
- Find US election exit poll results
- Download full datasets for surveys curated by the Roper Center
Statista: The Leading Statistics Portal
Provides access to selected statistics and studies of over 600 industries gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources from 2007 to the present.
Users are explicitly prohibited from using Statista content with any third-party generative AI tools. This would create a competing product or service, disrupt Statista’s functionality, and share content to third parties. Unauthorized use may result in access restrictions.

American Memory
Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
eHRAF (e-Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures
Contains ethnographic and other documents describing the cultures of the world. Includes books, journal articles, and dissertations that are compiled into culture profiles. Many documents are in full-text.