Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Covers the colonial period to the present.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
Provides access to an archive of online social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis. Provides a comprehensive list of ICPSR resources and services, information on membership and governance, links to national data archives affiliated with ICPSR, and contact information.
A single entry portal for UN databases. Find data series by searching or browsing by theme. Includes Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries to aid research. All countries and a wide range of themes are covered.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.
Data are from research studies, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the DOJ, and other federal agencies. Topics include: Attitude Surveys, Community Studies, Corrections, Court Case Processing, Courts, Criminal Justice System, Crime and Delinquency, Official Statistics, Police, Victimization, Drugs, Alcohol, and Crime, Violence Against Women, Homicide Studies
Provides population, housing, economic and geographic data from the latest Decennial Census, the Economic Censuses and Surveys, and the American Community Survey. Users can view reference maps and create comparison tables and thematic maps which can be downloaded and printed. Coverage varies.
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
Condition of Education is an annual publication listing the most requested statistics on Education. Not a good source for datasets themselves, but very helpful for discovering which data sources provide the kind of data you're looking for.
The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education. Supplemental information on population trends, attitudes on education, education characteristics of the labor force, government finances, and economic trends provides background for evaluating education data.
Provides access to data from the Public Health Management Corporation's Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey, which includes data on health status, personal health behaviors, and access to and utilization of health services at the census, zip code, county and regional level.
The Kaiser Family Foundation polling archive holds more than 85,000 questions on health issues and the health care system. Includes a Question Finder. Downloads include reports, charts, and methodology files. The Kaiser Health Tracking Poll is their signature survey project.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
SSRC, funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, is designed to collect, catalogue and disseminate quality research and data on low-income families and individuals.