Comprehensive online reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Contains illustrations and maps. Most entries offer bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.
This interdisciplinary handbook provides extensive information about research in medieval studies and its most important results over the last decades. The handbook is a reference work which enables the readers to quickly and purposely gain insight into the important research discussions and to inform themselves about the current status of research in the field. The handbook consists of four parts. The first, large section offers articles on all of the main disciplines and discussions of the field. The second section presents articles on the key concepts of modern medieval studies and the debates therein. The third section is a lexicon of the most important text genres of the Middle Ages. The fourth section provides an international bio-bibliographical lexicon of the most prominent medievalists in all disciplines. A comprehensive bibliography rounds off the compendium.
A detailed portrait of the English Middle Ages and their key historical events, personages, and cultural contexts. Multidisciplinary articles bring together a rich variety of scholarly perspectives and individual viewpoints found in no other comparable reference work. More than 700 entries by over 300 international scholars discuss topics ranging from Sedulius to Skelton, from Wulfstan of York to Reginald Pecock, from Pictish art to Gothic sculpture, from the Vikings to the Black Death, from musical instruments to weapons, from Beowulf to The Book of Margery Kempe, from comic tales to religious allegory, from saints to lawyers, from courtly love to prostitution, from mills to monasteries, from Alfred the Great to Geoffrey Chaucer.
A Companion to Britain in the Later Middle Ages by S. H. Rigby (Editor)
This authoritative survey of Britain in the later Middle Ages comprises 28 chapters written by leading figures in the field. Covers social, economic, political, religious, and cultural history in England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. Provides a guide to the historical debates over the later Middle Ages. Each chapter includes suggestions for further reading
Misconceptions about the Middle Ages by Stephen Harris; Bryon L. Grigsby (Editor); Stephen J. Harris; Bryon Lee Grigsby
Brought together by an impressive, international array of contributors this book presents a representative study of some of the many misinterpretations that have evolved concerning the medieval period.
The Atlas depicts the spatial distribution of key events and buildings between 1066 and 1485, as well as providing the relevant Anglo-Saxon background. Charting the main political, administrative and religious features of medieval society, the maps also locate cultural landmarks such as the sites of mystery plays, universities and specific architectural styles. Topics covered include: Iron Age and Roman occupation Anglo-Saxons and Vikings changing political scenarios within England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland religious framework, including diocesan boundaries, monasteries and friaries government, society and economy. Complete with recommended further reading, this volume is an indispensable reference source for all students of medieval British history.
Although the pages are old, there is wealth of information contained on this web site devoted to scholarly resources for Medieval Studies. Of particular use, the What Every Medievalist Should Know pages and the ORB Text Library with transcriptions and translations of medieval texts. Hint: sometimes you will find dead links, but often doing a web search will turn up the new urls for dead links.
Reference Sources: Topic Specific
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature in English by Elaine Treharne (Editor); Greg Walker (Editor)
Brings together the insights of new fields of inquiry and approaches in medieval studies with those of more familiar texts and methods of study, to provide a comprehensive overview of the state of medieval literature today. It also returns to first principles in posing fundamental questions about the nature, scope,and significance of the discipline, and the directions that it might take in the next decade. The Handbook contains 44 newly commissioned essays from both world-leading scholars and exciting new scholarly voices. Topics covered range from the canonical genres of Saints' lives, sermons, romance, lyric poetry, and heroic poetry; major themes including monstrosity and marginality, patronage and literary politics, manuscript studies and vernacularity are investigated; and there are close readings of key texts, such as Beowulf, Wulf and Eadwacer, and Ancrene Wisse and key authors from AElfric to Geoffrey Chaucer, Langland, and the Gawain Poet.
A Companion to Anglo-Saxon Literature by Elaine Treharne (Editor); Phillip Pulsiano (Editor)
This acclaimed volume explores and unravels the contexts, readings, genres, intertextualities and debates within Anglo-Saxon studies. Brings together specially-commissioned contributions from a team of leading European and American scholars. Embraces both the literature and the cultural background of the period. Combines the discussion of primary material and manuscript sources with critical analysis and readings. Considers the past, present and future of Anglo-Saxon studies
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia by Katharina M. Wilson (Editor); Nadia Margolis (Editor)
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe examines the daily reality of medieval women from all walks of life in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE, i.e., from the fall of the Roman Empire to the discovery of the Americas.
Entries that range from 250 words to 4,500 words in length thoroughly explore topics in the following areas: