Data at the regional, national, and international levels that includes: Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Personal Income and Outlays, Consumer Spending, Corporate Profits, Fixed Assets, Research and Development Satellite Account, Balance of Payments, Trade in Goods and Services, and more.
Data.gov provides access through a searchable catalog to U.S. government data. Developed by the Federal CIO Council, Data.gov provides descriptions of the federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED provides 35,000 economic time series from 38 sources. FRED also provides an Excel add-in to access economic data directly from Excel. See also Page One Economics for Federal Reserve background and metadata.
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Covers the colonial period to the present.
IPUMS from the University of Minnesota Population Center is the best place for microdata from the U.S. Census, for International Microdata, the Current Population Survey, and a variety of other important resources.
SSRC, funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, is designed to collect, catalogue and disseminate quality research and data on low-income families and individuals.
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-Present)
Monthly wholesale trade, Manufacturing, Construction spending, Durable goods, New home sales, New residential construction, Retail trade, Services, U.S. International trade, Housing vacancies and ownership
This reference book contains more than 2,000 data series covering virtually every aspect of the U.S. economy, including GDP, employment, production, prices, productivity, international trade, money supply, and interest rates. An introductory section describes major economic trends. Statistical profiles highlight each major industry group from mining to retail trade. See also the supplement, Patterns of Economic Change by State and Area.
Bank for International Settlement provides open access statistics on various aspects of the global financial system, including exchange rates and banking statistics. Also see the Annual Reports for discussions of general and country specific international economics issues.
Contains time series data for most IMF members (over 200 countries) including data on a country's exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking accounts, interest rates, production, prices, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts as well as commodity and trade statistics. Also contains area and world tables for selected series.
Provides access to an archive of online social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis. Provides a comprehensive list of ICPSR resources and services, information on membership and governance, links to national data archives affiliated with ICPSR, and contact information.
The ICRG (International Country Risk Guide) Researcher's Dataset from the PRS Group comprises 22 variables in three subcategories of risk (political, financial, and economic), for 146 countries, over the period 1984 to the previous year. Data are annual averages of components published in the International Country Risk Guide.
Contains data on over 60,000 global publicly-traded companies and over 1,000,000 domestic and international private companies. Contains biographies on over 200,000 corporate executives. Also includes: earnings estimates from Thomson First Call; equity research reports with analyst recommendations; institutional holdings and insider transaction data; up to 35 years of adjusted and unadjusted end-of-day equity pricing data; Historical information on security pricing dating back to 1925. Updated daily.
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2010. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
Find results from US national public opinion surveys (1935-present). Includes public opinion research from 120+ countries. Use this database to find polls from Gallup, Pew, and more.
- Search iPOLL to find individual survey questions and answers
- Compare public opinion over time
- Find US election exit poll results
- Download full datasets for surveys curated by the Roper Center
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) contains detailed bilateral trade statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year. Individual trade partner data can be accessed here.
A single entry portal for UN databases. Find data series by searching or browsing by theme. Includes Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries to aid research. All countries and a wide range of themes are covered.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.
World Bank portal to data on trade and tariffs. This pulls data from WDI, UN Comtrade, WTO, and others into a user-friendly interface. Includes a detailed custom query engine that can be accessed by creating a free WITS account.
Provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes industry, labor, tourism, population, health, education, and general data
Provides a variety of economic indicators recorded on a monthly, quarterly, or yearly basis. Coverage varies, but many aggregates statistics are available back to the mid-1990s. NOTE: Data linked to the online version of the China Statistical Yearbook is best accessed with Internet Explorer.