Research Guides: GERM 262: European Film (HC) Spring 2012: Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Begin your search with Tripod Articles to search millions of articles and reviews in journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Use the button to get full-text copies of articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

See the Search Tips tab for additional information about searching Tripod Articles and other indices.

Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
The most important index for Film Studies. Offers citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews from film and television journals from 30 countries. The journals range from scholarly to popular titles. Covers the years between 1976-2001. (The print version of this index covers 1973-2004.)
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Tripod: Articles
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles searches millions of journal articles, many of them in full text and available through the Tri-College Libraries. While it doesn't provide access to everything the library has to offer, it is a good starting point for your searches.

Selected Film & Media Studies Journals

Cahiers du cinéma.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Swarthmore has 1951-1964, 1967-present.
Cineaste
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1996 to the present. The print version of this resource is available at Swarthmore College and covers the years 1977 to the present. The magazine also maintains a cumulative index online: Online Cumulative Index, 1967-2011
CiNéMAS: revue d'études cinématographiques
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage starts from 1990.
Jump cut
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1974-present
Sight and Sound
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1932–present