Web Archiving and Data Rescue

Census Reporter is an independent project designed to make data from the American Community Survey (ACS) easier to use (contains 2023 ACS data)

Provides researchers, media, and the public with easily accessible, up-to-date, and comprehensive historical data on the American labor force

Contains web harvests from U.S. government websites taken at the end of the 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020, and 2024 presidential administrations

Contains data sets from various federal agency sites including the CDC PLACES (Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates), the Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), and the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST)

Contains economic data time series from national, international, public, and private sources

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) provides data on a variety of topics including voting, crime, immigration, and health care

Provides census and survey data from around the world

Data workbooks developed by the National Equity Atlas focusing on topics such as median wages, educational attainment, poverty, and transportation access

An aggregated data set developed by the National League of Cities focusing on disparities in health, education, workforce, and housing

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025

A data set and dashboard developed by the Department of Population Health at NYU Langone that includes multiple years of congressional district health data

A data tool developed by the University of Wisconsin's Population Health Institute that presents non-partisan data on health and health equity for all congressional districts in the United States

A free, open repository of web crawl data

This project run by MuckRock and Big Local News contains a variety of government data sets on topics such as federal prisons, TSA, the CFPB, the Peace Corps, and the EPA.

This is an open online repository maintained by Harvard University that allows researchers to share their data regardless of their institutional affiliation.

A non-profit library of free texts, movies, software, music, and websites

An effort led by volunteers at a variety of academic institutions to preserve copies of U.S. federal climate data

This data set contains bibliographic information for more than 22,000 research materials compiled by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) as part of the National Institute of Health's Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal.

This contains data files for computing heat index and heat waves compiled by the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) were collected on January 17, 2025.

OBIS is a global open-access data and information clearing-house on marine biodiversity for science, conservation and sustainable development. Includes datasets from NOAA

A centralized repository of datasets aggregated from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Programs, Offices, and National Laboratories

The Open Energy Data Initiative (OEDI) contains data sets for projects funded by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Preserves and provides access to federal environment data

A joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Legal Defense Fund tracking government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education, or the use of scientific information since 2016.