Research Guides: Grammars in the TriCo: North America

Languages of North America

Acoma
United States (Keres)
Approved for LING 115
- Stress
- BMC copy bound with Maidu Grammar and Piro (Arawakan) Grammar
American Sign Language
United States (Deaf Sign Language)
Not approved for LING 115
Arapaho
United States (Algic)
Approved for LING 115
Blackfoot
Canada (Algic)
Not approved for LING 115
Chemehuevi
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
Approved for LING 115
- Stress: discussion pp. 27–32
Cherokee, Oklahoma
United States (Iroquoian)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Cheyenne (1980)
United States (Algic)
Not approved for LING 115
Cheyenne (1907)
United States (Algic)
Not approved for LING 115
Choctaw
United States (Muskogean)
Coeur d'Alene
United States (Salishan)
Comanche
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
- See also: Comanche Vocabulary and Comanche Texts
Cree (Plains)
Canada (Algic)
Not approved for LING 115
Dakota
United States (Siouan)
Approved for LING 115
Diegueño (Kumiai)
Mexico (Cochimí-Yuman)
Approved for LING 115
- Alternate Names: Campo, Cochimí, Comeya, Cuchimí, Diegueño, Kamia, Kamiai, Kamiyahi, Kamiyai, Ki-Miai, Ko’al, Ku’ahl, Kumeyaai, Kumeyaay, Kumia, Kw’aal, Quemayá, Tipai’, Tipái, Tipéi
Haitian
Haiti (Creole)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Hawaiian
United States (Austronesian)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
- See also: Hawaiian Dictionary
Hidatsa
United States (Siouan)
- Not Tone Language
Huichol
Mexico (Uto-Aztecan)
- Alternate Names: Vixaritari Vaniuqui, Vizaritari Vaniuki, Wixarika
Jamul Tiipay (Kumiai)
Mexico (Cochimí-Yuman)
Approved for LING 115
- Not tone language
- Alternate Names: Campo, Cochimí, Comeya, Cuchimí, Diegueño, Kamia, Kamiai, Kamiyahi, Kamiyai, Ki-Miai, Ko’al, Ku’ahl, Kumeyaai, Kumeyaay, Kumia, Kw’aal, Quemayá, Tipai’, Tipái, Tipéi
Karok
United States (Language Isolate)
Not approved for LING 115
- Stress: brief discussion p. 13
Kawaiisu
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
Approved for LING 115
- See Prof. Lillehaugen for supplementary material
Kiowa
United States (Kiowa Tanoan)
Approved for LING 115
Klamath
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
Kwakiutl
Canada (Wakashan)
- See also: Kwakiutl Texts
Lenni Lenape
United States (Algic)
Louisiana Creole French
United States (Creole)
Currently unavailable in the TriCo
Luiseño
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Maidu
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
- See also Maidu Texts and Dictionary
- BMC copy bound with Acoma Grammar and Texts and Piro (Arawakan) Grammar
Mam
Guatemala (Mayan)
Approved for LING 115
Maricopa
United States (Cochimí-Yuman)
Not approved for LING 115
- Alternate Names: Cocomaricopa, Piipaash
Menomini (Menominee)
United States (Algic)
Miwok, Southern Sierra
United States (Penutian)
- BMC copy bound with The Wiyot Language
Mixe, Ayutla
Mexico (Mixe-Zoquean)
Mixtec, Alacatlatzala
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- In Spanish
- See also: Diccionario del idioma mixteco: Tutu Tu'un Ñuu Savi
- Alternate names: Tu'un Savi, To'on Savi, Highland Guerrero Mixtec, Mixteco de Alacatlatzala
Mixtec, Chalcatongo
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
Approved for LING 115
Musqueam
Canada (Salishan)
Nahuatl, Classical (1975)
Mexico (Uto-Aztecan)
- See also: Nahuatl dictionaries
Nahuatl, Classical (2011)
Mexico (Uto-Aztecan)
- See also: Nahuatl dictionaries
Nahuatl, Tetelcingo (Morelos)
Mexico (Uto-Aztecan)
Not approved for LING 115
- See also: Nahuatl dictionaries
Navajo
United States (Na-Dene)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Navajo (1967)
United States (Na-Dene)
- Title: The Phonology and Morphology of the Navaho Language
Navajo (1987)
United States (Na-Dene)
Not Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
- An earlier edition is also available in the Swarthmore and Bryn Mawr reference collections.
Nez Perce
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Nishnaabemwin
Canada (Algic)
Approved for LING 115
- N.B.: Nishnaabemwin is an emergent language—a fusion of Ottawa and Eastern Ojibwa.
North-West River (Sheshātshīt) Montagnais
Canada (Algic)
Approved for LING 115
Osage
United States (Siouan)
Approved for LING 115
- See also: Osage Dictionary
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Otomí de San Ildefonso Tultepec, Querétaro
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
Approved for LING 115
- In Spanish
Paiute, Southern (1992)
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
- Title: Southern Paiute and Ute: linguistics and ethnography
Palaihnihan
United States (Palaihnihan)
- Title: A history of Palaihnihan phonology
- Includes: Achumawi and Atsugewi
Pomo, Eastern
United States (Pomoan)
Approved for LING 115
Pomo, Southeastern
United States (Pomoan)
Approved for LING 115
Proto-Pomo
United States (Pomoan)
Seneca
United States (Iroquoian)
Slave
Canada (Na-Dene)
Approved for LING 115
- Tone language: discussion pp. 103–127
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Tarascan
Mexico (Tarascan)
- BMC copy bound with A Grammar of Tera
Tepehua, Huehuetla
Mexico (Totonacan)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Teribe
Panama (Chibchan)
Approved for LING 115
- Marginal Tone System
Timucua
United States (Unclassified)
Not approved for LING 115
Totonac (Misantla)
Mexico (Totonacan)
Tsimshian
Canada (Penutian)
Not approved for LING 115
Tunica
United States (Gulf)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
- See also: Tunica Texts and Tunica Dictionary
Tzeltal
Mexico (Mayan)
Tzutujil
Guatemala (Mayan)
Approved for LING 115
- Stress: discussion pp. 29–34
Ute (1992)
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
- Title: Southern Paiute and Ute: linguistics and ethnography
- See also: Ute Texts
Ute (2011)
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
Not approved for LING 115
- See also: Ute Texts.
Ventureño
United States (Chumash)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Wappo
United States (Yuki)
- Not Tone Language; Ostensibly no stress
- See also: English-Wappo Vocabulary
Wikchamni
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
- Alternate Names: Wukchumni
- See also:
  * Who Speaks Wukchumni?: Short documentary about Marie Wilcox, the last fluent speaker of Wukchumni.
  * and Yokuts Language of California.
Wintu
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
- See also: Wintu Dictionary
Witsuwit'en
Canada (Na-Dene)
Approved for LING 115
- Stress: discussion pp. 631–668
Wiyot (1925)
United States (Algic)
Approved for LING 115
Wiyot (1964)
United States (Algic)
- BMC copy bound with Southern Sierra Miwok
Xinkan (Xinca)
Guatemala (Unclassified)
Yaqui (Arizona)
United States (Uto-Aztecan)
- Title: The phonology of Arizona Yaqui: with texts
- See also: Yaqui Syntax
Yokuts
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?
- See also Yawelmani Phonology
Yokuts, Yawelmani
United States (Penutian)
Approved for LING 115
- Title: Yawelmani Phonology
- See also: Yokuts Language of California
Yup'ik
Alaska (Eskimo-Aleut)
Approved for LING 115, but please note that this is a pedagogical grammar
Yurok (1958)
United States (Algic)
Not approved for LING 115
- See also: The Yurok Language Project Dictionary.
Yurok (2010)
United States (Algic)
- See also: The Yurok Language Project Dictionary.
Zapotec, Choapan
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- In Spanish and Zapotec
Zapotec, Isthmus
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- See also: Zapotec-English/English-Zapotec (Isthmus) Concise Dictionary
Zapotec, Mitla (Oaxaca)
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- See also: Mitla Zapotec Texts &
  Diccionario zapoteco de Mitla, Oaxaca
Zapotec, San Agustin Loxicha
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
Zapotec, San Bartolome Zoogocho
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- See also: Diccionario zapoteco de San Bartolomé Zoogocho, Oaxaca
Zapotec, San Lucas Quiavini
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
Not approved for LING 115
- Title: Remnant Raising and VSO Clausal Architecture: A Case Study of San Lucas Quiviní Zapotec
- Tone Language
Zapotec, Santa María Quiegolani
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- Title: Quiegolani Zapotec Syntax
- Tone Language
Zapotec, Valley
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
Approved for LING 115
- Contrastive Tone
- How have past students rated this grammar?
Zapotec, Yatzachi
Mexico (Oto-Manguean)
- In Spanish
- See also: Diccionario zapoteco de Yatzachi
Zoque, Chiapas
Mexico (Mixe-Zoquean)
Approved for LING 115
- How have past students rated this grammar?