EDU 53: Educating Emergent Bilinguals, Fall 2024 (SC): Home

Search by county or zipcode to compare linguistic diversity in the United States.

Archived editions of the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. up to 2012 are available via the website of the U.S. Census Bureau.

This is a supplement to the Statistical Abstract that has been discontinued by the US Census Bureau. It includes historical data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. Covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use.

Provides access to data from the County and City Data Books from 1944-2000.

Provides summary tables of population characteristics, social programs and crime, income data and projections. 1997-2010.

Pennsylvania Standards describe what students should know and be able to do, such as English Language Proficiency or Interpersonal Skills; they increase in complexity and sophistication as students progress through school. Using this tool, you can locate specific standards, anchors, and eligible content based on subject area and grade level or course. Select the subject area and grade level, or select the course to view the related standards.

Search for your school's "report card" from the Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) and the PA Department of Education. Under "school details," you can get interesting information like attendance figures, the number of books in the library, and college entrance exam scores. One caveat: the most recent data appears to be from 2000-2001, so stick to NCES for current enrollment statistics. Also, when searching by the name of the school, leave off "high school," "elementary school," etc.--for example, just search for "Norristown Area" instead of "Norristown Area High School."

This extensive guide is designed to help students find out information about specific schools in Philadelphia and surrounding counties, demographic data about the regions surrounding a specific school, and secondary literature about important related educational and social issues.

SABINS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for school attendance areas, or school catchment areas, for selected areas in the United States for the 2009-2010 school year.

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.

The Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (CCIS) at the University of California, San Diego, provides research that focuses on Mexican migration to California and comparative, cross-national and cross-regional research on international migratory movements, immigration policy, and citizenship policy. Working papers are freely available.

The Immigration Research Library is a free, online collection of contemporary, U.S. immigration reports, briefs, fact sheets, infographics, news and events. The Library hosts (with links to original sources) more than 1,500 U.S. immigration research reports with simple, straightforward abstracts drawn from respected universities and research institutes from across the country. This free Library is for anyone interested in U.S. immigration issues including students, researchers, journalists, educators, advocates, policymakers, direct-service providers, etc.

“The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.” MPI's work is organized around four research topics: Migration Management, Refugee Protection and International Humanitarian Response, North American Borders and Migration Agenda, and Immigrant Settlement and Integration. Publications (reports and fact sheets are available for download. The Immigration Data Hub offers up-to-date immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries. Country Profiles offers data, charts, and research.

The Latin American Migration Project (LAMP) is a multidisciplinary research effort between investigators in various countries of Latin America and the United States. LAMP is currently based at Princeton University and the University of Guadalajara. LAMP's purpose is to extend this research to migration flows originating in other Latin American countries.

Pew Research Center is a think tank that conducts public opinion polling and other social science research. The Immigration & Migration section contains research specifically focused on immigration.

The Urban Institute’s Program on Immigration provides rigorous data and analysis to center immigrants’ experiences and show how federal, state, and local policies and practices affect their well-being. Immigrants, refugees, and their families are part of our communities but face systemic barriers to their advancement and prosperity. Policymakers, service providers, and advocates turn to Urban for insights to advance equity by engaging immigrant and refugee families.

This extensive website serves teachers and families of English language learners. The available resources address many different issues related to English language learning.

Research and resources dedicated to improving public education K-12th grade.

News source on national education issues. Supported by Teachers College, Columbia University.