Included below are select reference sources which may be helpful. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, and companions, among others.
While these categories are porous, in general:
Literature reviews are useful insofar as they often provide a summary treatment of issues and debates surrounding a certain topic or which characterize a given area of research. These sketch out the intellectual terrain of an issue or area of study (often like an encyclopedia entry) but also provide a list of important sources and readings, often presented with a brief account of their respective content or contribution.
Below are three collections which will very likely provide literature reviews/bibliographies relevant to your topic.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (click icons above) will contain a variety of literature reviews which may be relevant to your research topic. The Oxford Bibliographies database is subdivided into a number of areas, the most relevant of which will generally be in the sections on Buddhism, Chinese Studies, and Art History. Searching the whole OBO site is recommended.
Here are just a few examples of their reviews:
Articles in Compass Journals are broadly similar in providing an overview of important literature in a given area. They are unique in that they take the form of a more traditional essay or article, usually arguing a thesis (in contrast to the more encyclopedic approach in Oxford Bibliographies).
Though most of the relevant articles will likely be in Religion Compass 
, it will be useful to search the larger Wiley portal using the search bar at the top right of the site.
Some examples of potentially useful Compass articles:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses collects a large volume of graduate theses and dissertations. These may be particularly useful for you insofar as doctoral dissertations (and to a more limited extent, masters theses) usually contain a portion devoted to reviewing the scholarly literature pertinent to the author's topic or argument.
Most often, this literature review will appear in the introduction or first chapter of the dissertation, but this may or may not be labeled or titled "literature review" at any point. Nonetheless, you can usually spot where the relevant literature is being reviewed when the citations, references, or notes become more dense.
Here are a few examples that may be relevant to your study of the Lotus Sutra and its influence:
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by 
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by 
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by 
Esoteric Buddhism and the Tantras in East Asia by 
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by 
The Spread of Buddhism by 
An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints and Demons by 
Early Buddhist Art of China and Central Asia, Volume 2 the Eastern Chin and Sixteen Kingdoms Period in China and Tumshuk, Kucha and Karashahr in Central Asia (2 Vols) by 
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture by 
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and the Arts by 
