HIST 299: Exploring History (BMC)

1. Clara Cary Case Edwards Papers, box 1: https://archives.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/resources/bmc-m4

2. Andrew H. Woods Papers, box 4: https://archives.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/resources/bmc-m78

3. Jean Scobie Davis Papers, box 9: https://archives.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/resources/bmc-m85

4. Lucy Evans Chew Diaries, June-September 1936: https://archives.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/resources/bmc-m90

Special Collections is open by appointment during Spring Break, from March 10th to 14th. The week following the break, Special Collections operates during our normal reading room hours. All collections used in your class will be available in the reading room through March.

If you would like to make an appointment, please email SpecColl@brynmawr.edu

ASSIGNMENT: Due 3/23

Special Collection/Primary Source Assignment 

This assignment will focus on the sets of historical primary documents from the three collections you looked at in class on 3/7.

It consists of two parts/tasks:

First, consider your selected primary source from Special Collections in terms of the historical questions the source could and could not answer.  In addition, reflect on the types of methodological approaches that working with the source would require. 

Next, identify a similar set of primary sources from one of the collections/data sets that you were introduced to in class. Having spent some time with your selected primary source as described above, consider what else you might find that you could potentially analyze alongside it. This can be a single primary source or a collection of primary sources. Describe why the source would be a good complement to the Special Collection primary source. 

Large databases like Adam Matthew Explorer act as platforms housing a number of primary source subcollections. Find letters, diaries, government records, illustrations, and materials from museum and library collections within Adam Matthew Explorer. 

Collections you will find in Adam Matthew Explorer: