Research Guides: CSTS 257: Antigone's Echoes: Activism and the Law from Ancient Greece to Today (HC): Finding Books and Journal Articles

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog for your home institution to look for all books (print and digital) owned by your college as well as the print titles at the other two schools.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a keyword search (called Any Field) in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books. Note that all these searches are in the Books+Media channel. In examples #1 and 4 below, using keywords (rather than subjects) will pick up results from chapter titles and content summaries.

antigone [Any Field] Sorted by newest titles first

antigone [Subject] NOT sophocles [Author] Finds books and films about Antigone but not the play by Sophocles

antigone [Subject] AND sophocles [Author] For translations and editions of the Greek tragedy. Sorted by newest titles first

(politic* OR justice) [Subject] AND (antigone OR antigona) [Any Field]

** Try opening a search above and replace one of the topics with your research interest.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tricollege Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 500 million title records owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan. Use the button to place requests.

Selected Books

Antigone in Performance around the World

Antígonas: Writing from Latin America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fradinger tracks the ways in which fragments of Antigone’s myth and tragedy have been persistently reflected on and quilted to local dramatic forms, revealing an archive of political thought about Latin America’s heterogeneous neocolonial histories.
Antigone in the Americas : democracy, sexuality, and death in the settler colonial present
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Argues for a decolonial reinterpretation of Sophocles’ classical tragedy, Antigone, that can help us to rethink the anti-colonial politics of militant mourning in the Americas. Sophocles’s classical tragedy, Antigone, is continually reinvented, particularly in the Americas. Written by Andrés Fabián Henao Castro.
Antigone on the Contemporary World Stage
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of essays explores the reception of Sophocles' Antigone in numerous countries, including The Congo and Australia, Argentina and Japan.
Greeks and Romans on the Latin American Stage
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See in particular these essays: "Becoming Antigone: The Classics as a model of resistance in Jorge Andrade's Pedreira das Almas" / Seth A. Jeppesen and "Antigone undead: tragedy and biopolitics in Perla de la Rosa's Antígona: las voces que incendian el desierto" / Jesse Weiner.
Portrayals of Antigone in Portugal: 20th and 21st Century Rewritings of the Antigone Myth
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gathers essays on Portuguese drama which rewrites Antigone's story. The political and cultural contexts are important elements. Contributors also reflect on earlier interpretations including those of Anouilh, Cocteau and Zambrano.

Antigone Viewed by Feminists and Philosophers

Feminist Readings of Antigone
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contributors to this essay collection focus on female subjectivity and sexuality, feminist ethics and politics, questions of race and gender, psychoanalytic theory, kinship, embodiment, and tensions between the private and the public.
Interrogating Antigone in Postmodern Philosophy and Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of articles by scholars from a range of disciplines provides a postmodern perspective on the ethical and political issues raised by the classical figure of Antigone.
Laughing with Medusa: Classical Myth and Feminist Thought
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The essays in this collection cover a wide range of subject areas including poetry, philosophy, science, history, and psychoanalysis as well as classics,
The Returns of Antigone: Interdisciplinary Essays
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Antigone transmits her energy through the ages and across the continents in an astoundingly diverse set of contexts. This international collection explores how and why, with essays ranging from philosophical, literary, and political investigations to queer theory, race theory, and artistic appropriations of the play.

Finding Journal Articles

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.

Recommended Journals

These journals are useful for their coverage of classical reception. Look for them in your journal database search results:

Classical and Modern Literature
This journal is not available in Tripod, but you can use Année philologique to see listings of many of the articles which appeared in CML. See the appropriate college icon for results. Note that the journal ceased publication in 2009.
Classical Receptions Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This interesting journal focuses on "The reception of the texts, ideas and material culture of ancient Greece and Rome from antiquity to the present day." See the results of a search on antigone.
International Journal of the Classical Tradition: The Official Journal of the International Society for the Classical Tradition
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The journal's chief focus is the creative use of the ancient Greco-Roman heritage in a broad range of scholarly endeavors.
New Voices in Classical Reception Studies
This open access journals publishes scholarship investigating issues of reception of classical texts, ideas, performance, and material culture across different cultural contexts and in different media.
Practitioners' Voices in Classical Reception Studies
Published as a companion to New Voices in Classical Reception Studies, this open access publication was founded "in response to the growing awareness that Classical Reception research has to recognise the full range of processes that shape the impact of classical material in new contexts."