Research Guides: HIST 213: Astrology: History & Practice (HC): Journal Articles

Indexes

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of history and the history of science. Since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles:

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
Key resource for the history of science. Indexes the scholarly literature in the fields of the history of science and medicine. It covers both journal articles and chapter-length material from books.

Bibliography of British and Irish history
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BCE to the present.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Specific Subjects

There are also indexes devoted to other subject areas that may be of use for specific topics:

International Bibliography of Art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. International coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, anthology contributions and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers 1940-present. Contains over 328,000 records as of August 2005. Monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

See this tutorial for more information on cited reference searching.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, open the Basic Search tab to find the Cited Reference Search link to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first First name initial only with asterisk
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks. In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for material citing the title you have entered.
Bonus Google Scholar includes books in its results. Web of Science is limited to journal articles only.
Minus Google Scholar takes all material on the web in which your chosen book or article appears. You need to evaluate the results to find scholarly treatments of your topic.