GREK 101: Introduction to Greek Literature: Worlds of Wonder (HC)

This Companion offers an in-depth overview of approaches to Herodotus' remarkable work. Contributors address pragmatics, narratology, and orality. The Histories are now seen as very much a product of the intellectual climate of their own day - not only subject to contemporary literary, religious, moral and social influences, but actively contributing to the great debates of their time.

This companion examines the reception of Herodotus in a range of cultural contexts, from the fifth century BC to the twentieth century. The essays consider key topics such as Herodotus' place in the Western historiographical tradition, translation of and scholarly engagement with the Histories, and the use of the Histories as a model for interpreting cultural and geographical material.

This Companion provides a series of accessible chapters, written by specialists, illuminating many aspects of Herodotus' work: his skill in language and his narrative art; his intellectual preconceptions; his working methods and techniques; his attitude towards nature and the gods; his attitude towards foreign cultures and peoples; and his view of human life and human history.

The essays in this two-volume Companion present broad, chronological treatments of important issues in the writing of history and antiquity along with interpretative readings on the individual historians. These are complemented by chapters on individual genres including the related forms of tragedy, biography, and epic.

Important reference source in the field of Classics. In its digital form, the new OCD is a continuously updated and expanding resource that keeps scholarship current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives. The OCD also incorporates multimedia, including images, links, and audiovisual clips that complement textual content and connect readers to innovative digital materials that have become integral to the field.

Updated and translated version of the standard encyclopedia for Antiquity, Der neue Pauly : Enzyklopädie der Antike. Articles are extensive and often address the topic in general before analyzing the issues in Greece and in Rome specifically. Bibliographies list books, essays, and journal articles for further reading.
There are also additional series published with the encyclopedia, including a five-volume set on the classical tradition and an ongoing series of supplements:
1) Chronologies of the Ancient World
2) Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts
3) Historical Atlas of the Ancient World
4) Reception of Myth and Mythology
5) Reception of Classical Literature
6) History of Classical Scholarship - A Biographical Dictionary
7) Figures of Antiquity and Their Reception in Art, Literature and Music
8) The Reception of antiquity in Renaissance Humanism
9) The Early Mediterranean World, 1200-600 BC
10) History and Culture of Byzantium
12) The Reception of Antiquity in the Age of Enlightenment
Note that all Pauly volumes are available in print at Haverford. Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore have all the volumes online.

This encyclopedia offers an overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. Essay-length articles include linked references to related entries as well as select list of titles for further reading.