Research Guides: POLS 092: Senior Comprehensive: Data &amp; Statistics

Finding Data & Statistics

1. Statistical Summaries

Great resources for quickly identify reliable statistics on a topic.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-Present)
Statista: The Leading Statistics Portal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to selected statistics and studies of over 600 industries gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources from 2007 to the present.

Our World in Data
Data visualizations and analysis on a broad range of topics including health, demographics, living conditions, and economic development. Allows you to trace changes over time and make comparisons across countries. Data sources include international institutions (e.g. OECD, UN) and research articles.

2. Recommended Databases

These resources provide more in-depth data or statistics on particular topics.

Resources for statistics (and mapping) include PolicyMap and Social Explorer. For opinion polling data, see Roper iPOLL. ICPSR provides access to raw data from thousands of social science research studies. Business and finance can be found in Eikon.

PolicyMap
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.
Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (iPOLL)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find results from US national public opinion surveys (1935-present). Includes public opinion research from 120+ countries. Use this database to find polls from Gallup, Pew, and more.

You can:
- Search iPOLL to find individual survey questions and answers
- Compare public opinion over time
- Find US election exit poll results
- Download full datasets for surveys curated by the Roper Center
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an archive of online social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis. Provides a comprehensive list of ICPSR resources and services, information on membership and governance, links to national data archives affiliated with ICPSR, and contact information.

World Bank Open Data
Access World Development Indicators data by country or indicator.

Eikon
- This link opens in a new window
Provides real-time market data, news, ownership data and analysis tools covering public corporations and all types of investment vehicles. Coverage is North America and historical data is available.

POLS 092: Senior Comprehensive

Connect to Resources

Select the shortcut for your school to access a library resource.

Finding Data & Statistics