Research Guides: PEAC 215: Indigenous Sovereignty, Indigenous Refusal and Land ( HC ): Journal Articles

Why Use Journal Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are important sources of information offering:

Originality. Provides new evidence and interpretations.
Authoritativeness. Written by researchers for their peers.
Documentation. Cites key scholarship in footnotes that you can check.
Reliability. Reviewed by editors for significance and accuracy.
Conciseness. Presents an argument directly since length is often limited to 40 pages or less.
Engagement. Responds to issues and adds to an ongoing dialog.
Currency. Treats recent issues more quickly than books due to publishing schedules

Journal Databases and Indexes

The databases below allow you to search for journal articles by subject. When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available, use the Find It button to check for Haverford's or Bryn Mawr's holdings.

AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology. Articles are from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.
GenderWatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Covers 1970-present.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.
Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics, society, and Hispanic theater. Disciplines covered include anthropology, economics, history, literature, political science and sociology. Includes works in English and Spanish.
Informe Académico
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine. Also covers popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and newspapers.

Journal Databases for Specific Regions

Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to articles in the field of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material comes mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library. Covers 1966-present.

Dialnet
This is a virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the Universidad de la Rioja in Spain. Primarily a bibliographic index with tables of contents, it covers more than 5,000 journals and 2.1 million documents. There are a growing number of full-text articles available as content is continuously updated. Subjects covered include the sciences, social sciences and the humanities and arts. It is particularly useful for subjects related to Spain, such as history and Islamic studies, not well covered by other popular databases. English language search is available. Coverage is 1980 to present.

PEAC 215: Indigenous Sovereignty, Indigenous Refusal and Land ( HC )

Why Use Journal Articles?

Originality. Provides new evidence and interpretations.

Authoritativeness. Written by researchers for their peers.

Documentation. Cites key scholarship in footnotes that you can check.

Reliability. Reviewed by editors for significance and accuracy.

Conciseness. Presents an argument directly since length is often limited to 40 pages or less.

Engagement. Responds to issues and adds to an ongoing dialog.

Currency. Treats recent issues more quickly than books due to publishing schedules

Journal Databases and Indexes

Journal Databases for Specific Regions