HIST 246: History of Sexuality in the U.S. (HC)

Gay People’s Alliance records

The Gay People's Alliance was a Bi-College club from the 1970s until approximately 1989, when it was succeeded by the Bisexual, Gay, and Lesbian Alliance (BGALA). This collection includes log books, publications, materials related to Customs and the Honor Council, and a t-shirt.

Bisexual, Gay, and Lesbian Alliance records

The Bisexual, Gay, and Lesbian Alliance (BGALA) was an LGBTQ club at Haverford College from approximately 1989 to 2000. This collection contains booklets, journals, event flyers, organizational materials, Outtalk essays, and materials pertaining to the planning of the BGALA lounge.

Sexuality and Gender Alliance records

Sexuality and Gender Alliance (SAGA) was a Haverford club for students of the LGBTQ community that emerged out of an earlier group known as the Bisexual, Gay, and Lesbian Alliance (BGALA) around 2001. SAGA was active on campus until the late 2010s. This collection includes organization and administrative materials from SAGA as well as personal reflections of members and t-shirts created by the club.

Women’s Center records

The Women's Center was created in 1981, shortly after Haverford College became a fully coeducational institution. The Center was intended to help smooth the transition to admitting female first year students by providing them with resources related to women's issues as well as a dedicated meeting space. The Women's Center evolved to become the Center for Gender Resources and Sexual Equity (GRASE) in 2020. This collection contains organizational minutes, materials on sex education and sexual assault, and materials related to the history of coeducation at Haverford.

Stone Cold Busted

Stone Cold Busted began as a Haverford student publication but later became a Bi-College student publication. This collection contains issues from 1988 to 1990. Writers dealt with issues of structural racism at Haverford and issues around the Honor Code as well as abortion. In issue three, they presented a survey of campus, and responses were reported in the following issue. Other issues include accounts of rape on campus (told by the victim and the perpetrator), letters about gun violence, opinions on anti-Semitism, thoughts about feminism and the role of "Havermen" on campus, as well as a plethora of musings on other heavy topics. The final issue was split in half, with one section as a "women's issue" and the other as a "men's issue."

Jane Widseth papers

Jane Widseth has been a psychological counselor at Haverford College Counseling and Psychological Services since the 1970s. Her papers include materials related to the Council on Admissions Policy, which outline Haverford's move to coeducation in the late 1970s.

Haverford LGBTQ History Collection

The materials in this collection were digitized and cataloged by Chris Bechen (Haverford Class of 2018). It is drawn from a wide variety of materials from the Haverford College Archives in order to highlight LGBTQ history at Haverford. Materials from the Gay People's Alliance records; Bisexual, Gay, and Lesbian Alliance records; and Sexuality and Gender Alliance records are especially well-represented in this collection. The collection also includes digitized articles from the Bryn Mawr-Haverford College News related to LGBTQ+ events on campus.