Research Guides: HIST 125: Latin American and LatinX History (HC): Visual Sources

Religious Imagery

Diego Rivera, La sangre de los mártires revolucionarios fertilizando la tierra, fresco, 1926, Chapingo. (Flickr, Joaquin Martinez)

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.

Flickr
Through this site, you can find recent photographs taken around the world. Use the Advanced Search and limit results to Creative Commons-licensed content for fairly generous terms of use.
Latin American Posters Collection
Princeton has digitized and cataloged close to 3 thousand posters.
Photography
Source lists from LANIC including resources for individual countries.
Visual Resources - Latin American Studies
Librarians at Johns Hopkins have put together a list of resources including Chilean Protest Murals and the Museum of Latin American Art.

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Documents of Latin American and Latino Art
Offers over 8,000 Documents of 20th and 21st⁠-⁠century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Extremely rich site for understanding the art of a particular region and time. Use the Time Period and Geographic menus to see key Works of Art, Related Exhibitions, and, under Related Content, Thematic Essays. Essays and images related to Latin America including:
• Essays on indigenous Latin American Art
• Images of South American 20th century art

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
ARTbibliographies Modern
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles, books, exhibition catalogs and reviews of modern and contemporary art, including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Subject coverage from the 19th century on. Some indexing of publications back to 1960s; full text often available for publications since ca. 2000.

Archive of Early American Images (Brown University)
Provides access to nearly three thousand images from Spanish American sources including maps, prints, and book illustrations.

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.

Chilean Protest Murals
Harvard University Library makes available this collection of over 500 photographs. The murals were created between 1983 and 1990 during Pinochet's regime.
Colonial Latin America Curriculum Guide
ArtStor provides 13 thematic groups of images curated by Latin American historian, Rachel Moore. The groups range in time from the first colonial encounters through the age of independence. The images convey important historical information and represent a variety of view points.
Mapping Resistance: The Young Lords in El Barrio
"Mapping Resistance: The Young Lords in El Barrio is a new public art project featuring photographs by renowned photographer, Hiram Maristany, a founding member of the Young Lords and their official photographer. Follow along as we take the walking tour, map in hand to view 10 large-scale images across five locations in El Barrio." - Website
Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820 (Smith College)
Themes treated include metizaje, politics, religion, and material culture. "The website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture."