Research Guides: HLTH 315 Cancer Narratives ( HC ): Identifying Relevant Books and Journal Articles

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Review articles covering the discipline of anthropology including the subfields of archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics, regional studies, and sociocultural anthropology. 1972-present.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A browsable and searchable reference tool for discovering literature on a wide range of topics in the field of anthropology, including "Medical Anthropology" and "HIV/AIDS"

Using Library Catalogs

Tripod: Books and More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through Interlibrary Loan.

Journal Databases: Best Bets

AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology. Articles are from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related behavioral sciences from 1887 - present.
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.

Use the button to get full-text copies of articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

See the Search Tips tab for database strategies and recommended search terms.

Understand Boolean Operators

Even if the search engine you are using doesn't require you to enter boolean operators, it is still using them behind the scenes. It will help you to understand the logic behind your search
.
AND gives you results that include ALL of your concepts.
OR gives you results that include ANY of your concepts.
For example:

(reproduction OR pregnancy) AND (justice OR activism)