Research Guides: GSST 190: Introduction to Feminist and Gender Studies (HC): Background Information

Companions, Handbooks, and Guides

These kinds of reference books provide overviews that address major issues and topics within a field of study. The authors not only discuss key content but they also provide a more sophisticated level of analysis and contextualization than you might find in a textbook or introductory study. The authors are chosen for their research in specific areas and deliver authoritative essays. The material they choose to include in their bibliographies are good points of departure for further research and reading. Titles useful for this class include:

Cambridge Companion to Queer Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The essays in this companion focus on cultural and literary studies. They emphasize new and emerging research areas, including transgender studies, indigenous studies, disability studies, queer of color critique, performance studies, and studies of digital culture. Published in 2020.
Companion to Feminist Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays address three major areas: knowledge frameworks and theories; feminism in different academic disciplines; the impact feminism has on practice in fields ranging from education and healthcare to politics and social justice. Published in 2021.
Companion to Sexuality Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays in six sections: Theoretical and Methodological Diversity; Health, Science and Psychology; Sexuality and Institutions; Popular Culture; Citizenship, Policy and Law; Human Rights and Social Justice Movements. Published in 2020.
Companion to Women's and Gender Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Surveys major topics concerning areas of academic research; science health and psychology; culture; politics, economics and the environment; and social movements. Published in 2020.
Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leading feminist theorists, from around the globe, provide in-depth explorations of a diverse array of subject areas, capturing a plurality of approaches. Note in particular essays that address power dynamics including Agency, Coloniality, Gendered Divisions of Labor, Governance, Race and Racialization, Violence and more. Published in 2016.
Oxford Handbook of Feminist Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays on philosophical traditions ("Asian American Philosophy and Feminism"), philosophical subfields ("Feminist Bioethics"), topics ("Feminist Philosophy of Human Rights") and interdisciplinary theories (critical race theory, queer theory, trans studies and more). Published in 2021
Oxford Handbook of Transnational Feminist Movements
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is organized into ten sections covering the main themes that have emerged from transnational feminist movements: knowledge, theory and praxis; organizing for change; body politics, health and wellbeing; human rights and human security; economic and social justice; citizenship and state-building; peace movements, UNSR1325 and post-conflict state-building; militarism and religious fundamentalisms; feminist political ecology; and digital age transformations and future trajectories. Published in 2015.

You can find more companions, guides and handbooks by searching in your college's Tripod catalog

in Results = 30 book titles

Collections of Handbooks from Notable Publishers:

Cambridge Companions Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers subject or theme based collections of companion e-books within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. Areas covered include literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music.

Oxford Handbooks
This is a title list (newest copies first) of the books available in the tri-colleges. Add keywords to narrow the search to identify useful titles in the series.
Routledge Handbooks
This title list (newest copies first) from Tripod reflects the social science emphasis in this series.
Wiley Blackwell Companions and Handbooks
A list of the titles available in the tri-colleges. Add keywords to narrow the search results.

History and Biographical Background

American National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers portraits of more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. No living person is included.

Fifty-One Key Feminist Thinkers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overview essays on major figures in feminism past and present. The historical (Sojourner Truth, Simone de Beauvoir) appear with our contemporaries (bell hooks, Judith Butler). Essays include the thinkers' major works and suggestions for further reading about them.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Takes an interdisciplinary as well as a world view of queer history.
Oxford African American Studies Center
- This link opens in a new window
Includes many scholarly journal articles and biographical entries as well as images and primary sources about African Americans. SEARCH ONLINE
Oxford Handbook of American Women's History
- This link opens in a new window
See relevant essays including "Reproduction, Birth Control, and Motherhood in the United States." This latter essay was written by Rickie Solinger who has written important books on sexuality and abortion.
Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the essays "Women, Gender, and Sexuality in Latina/o Culture" and "Latina/os and Race."