Primary Sources for Latin American, Iberian, and Latinx Studies: Sources in Bryn Mawr Special Collections

For Bryn Mawr College, “Special Collections” comprises a group of objects—such as manuscripts, letters, photographs, art, and artifacts—that are deemed unusually rare or irreplaceable, and must be stored in a secure location with environmental controls to preserve the items and ensure current and future access. Special Collections is located on the 2nd floor of Canaday Library and open to researchers Monday through Friday, 10am-4:30pm. You can book an appointment to see this material or learn more about visiting Special Collections on our website.

Art & Artifacts

Rare Book Collections

1. 20th century Latin American fiction collected by Emir Rodriguez Monegal, a prominent literary critic and promoter of Borjes, Marguez, and other Latin American writers of the 2nd half of the 20th century. About 500 volumes. Can be found by searching in Tripod, "Any Field" for "Monegal".
2. Late 20th/early 21st century Latin American fiction and poetry, especially on LGBT themes, collected by literary scholar Luz Umpierre. Consists of about 100 books. Can by found by searching in Tripod for "Umpierre".
3. Books on the Spanish in Latin America in the early modern period (1530-1800) collected by Louise Dillingham. Consists of 100+ books. Can be found by searching for "Dillingham, Louise Bulkley '16".

Manuscripts & Archives

1. Papers of Joaquin Maurin, one of the leaders of POUM (Partido Obrero de Unificacion Marxista), a leftist party in Spain at the time of the Spanish Civil War. Consists mostly of his correspondence with his wife, especially during his time in prison during the war. Much of this is in French, as she was French. A small amount of papers and publications in this collection is about the Spanish Civil War and children's books that he wrote for his son in prison. Maurin's son, Mario Maurin, taught French at Bryn Mawr College for many years.
2. Papers of Emir Rodriquez Monegal. A large collection of material, mostly related to her writings. Includes some correspondence with other writers.
3. The College Archives holds some material related to the history of the Latin American, Iberian, and Latinx Studies department, including material related to curriculum development. There is also a small amount of material related to Hispanic and Latinx students at the college.