Research Guides: ARCH 101: Introduction to Egyptian and Near Eastern Archaeology: Handbooks, Companions and Museum Catalogues

Handbooks, Companions and Museum Catalogues

Below is a select number of Handbooks, Companions, and Museum Publications. The print copies that are not in the reference section will be on course reserve for this class (located behind the circulation desk in Carpenter). Many of the volumes are also available online. Choose the book icon for the print volumes and the B/H/S icons for records to online resources in Tripod.

Oxford Handbooks in Archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online in Archaeology seek to combine works of original scholarship with authoritative overviews of particular subjects. The resource provides coverage of all the major geographical areas of the world, countering any tendency towards Euro-American bias, as well as specific topic areas of current and lasting interest, combining also theoretical discussion with empirical content.

A Companion to the Ancient Near East by Snell, Daniel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient Near East by Potts, Daniel T
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East by Sason, Jack
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Egypt and the Ancient Near East
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the Ancient Near East by Roaf, Michael
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Companion to Ancient Egypt by Lloyd, Alan
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Companion to Ancient Near Eastern Art by Gunter, Ann
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The World between Empires: art, identity and the ancient Middle East
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art of the first Cities: the 3rd millennium B.C. from the Mediterranean to the Indus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook of Cuneiform Culture by Radner, Karen and Robson, Eleanor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window