CMME Project: Computerized Mensural Music Editing: A scholarly initiative to offer free online access to new, high-quality early music scores. Maintained by the University of Utrecht
Classical Scores Library: Contains classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material. Temple has access to Volumes I, II, III, and IV. This collection covers classical musical genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary.
Codices Electronici Sangallenses = Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen: Provides online access to the medieval codices in the Abbey Library of St. Gallen. Maintained by the Swiss Electronic Library.
Codici Electronici Ecclesiae Coloniensis (CEEC): Digitized medieval and early modern manuscript holdings of the Episcopal and Cathedral Library, Köln. Maintained by the Episcopal and Cathedral Library, Köln
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music (DIAMM): DIAMM is a portal to collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts dating ca. 800-1550; it includes information on all the known sources of European polyphonic music, and color images of some of the manuscripts. The database holds information on the entirety of the RISM B/IV Series (Manuscripts of Polyphonic Music, 11-16th centuries), and the Census-Catalogue of Manuscript Sources of Polyphonic Music 1400-1550. Requires free registration to view full-size images. Other projects hosted on DIAMM include the Du Fay Opera Omnia (edited by Alejandro Planchart, in progress), Robert Mitchell's Trent Codices editions, an updated version of the Curtis-Wathey Handlist of Fifteenth-Century Liturgical Music, Helen Deeming's Sources of British Song, c.1150-1300, assorted addenda and corrections to published works, and doctoral dissertations in medieval musicology. Maintained by the University of Oxford.
Du Fay Opera Omnia: The new Du Fay Opera Omnia (complete works), edited by Alejandro Planchart (in progress)
e-codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland: A virtual library of medieval manuscripts of Switzerland; complete digital reproductions of the manuscripts are linked with corresponding scholarly descriptions. As of June, 2010, the library contains over 600 manuscripts from 27 different libraries. Maintained by the Swiss Electronic Library.
Early Music Online: Three hundred 16th-century anthologies of printed music - including 10,000 individual works - from Italy, Germany, France, and England; all listed in RISM B/I (Recueils imprimés XVI-XVII siécles) and digitized from the British Library's collections. Most of the volumes are partbooks of vocal polyphony, but the collection includes some tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. Maintained by Royal Holloway, University of London; The British Library
Europeana: Connecting Cultural Heritage: A digital library of images, texts, audio, and video from Europe's museums, archives, and libraries.
Gallica Scores: Digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Contains numerous medieval music, liturgical, and related manuscripts
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music Library: “IMSLP, also known as the International Music Score Library Project or Petrucci Music Library, was started in 2006. The site is governed by Canadian copyright law; not all available scores are in the public domain in the United States. ** Be careful about copyright and quality of the scores. Check the source, especially for older uploaded scores.
Internet Archive: Advanced Search: “Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more” –(from Home page). - To look for scores do a combined subject/topic search and use “scores” as a description.
The Josquin Research Project (JRP): Digital tools for accessing and analyzing music from ca. 1420-1520. The JRP hosts a database of scores - including works by Josquin, de la Rue, Ockeghem, and others - searchable by pitch strings, interval successions, and/or rhythms. Its analytical tools allow examination of range, parallels, rhythm, and dissonance, and can graph works as a piano roll or activity plot. Maintained by Jesse Rodin, Stanford Music Department; CCARH, Stanford University
Machaut Resources: Manuscripts Online: Links to digitized manuscripts containing Machaut's works, collected for the Stanford project "Machaut in the Book." Maintained by Stanford University
Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts Collection: A database with descriptions and some digital facsimiles of 215 medieval or Renaissance manuscripts on a variety of subjects, including music, dating from the 11th to 17th centuries. It is maintained by the Harry Ransom Center, at the University of Texas at Austin
Medieval Music Database: An index of liturgical chant and 14th-century music, with transcriptions and links to digital copies when available. Note: site last updated in 2004. Maintained by La Trobe University.
The Music Treasures Consortium: Music manuscripts and print materials from the 16th to the 20th centuries, from the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library at Harvard, The Library of Congress, The British Library, The Morgan Library and Museum, The Lila Acheson Wallace Library at The Juilliard School, and the New York Public Library
Medieval Music Print Scores Search results from the Tripod catalogs
nkoda sheet music: nkoda is an extensive library of digital sheet music covering many genres and housing some of the most important music publishers (Baereinreiter, Henle, Ricordi, etc.) Make sure to be logged in to your Haverford Google account to view these instructions.
Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital Scores: Authoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
Opening the Geese Book: Online facsimile of a codex completed in 1510 for the parish of St. Lorenz in Nuremberg.
Sibley Digital Scores: Public Domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
Slovak Early Music Database: Cantus Planus In Slovacia: A digital collection of manuscript music sources - both complete and fragmentary - dating from the late 11th century to the beginning of the 16th century, kept in libraries and archives in Slovakia. Each entry includes a description, complete indexing, and full-color reproductions. Create a free user account to view high-resolution images. Maintained by the Institute of Musicology of Slovak Academy of Sciences.
Trent Codices Online: 15th-century polyphonic music from the 7 Trent codices: with detailed descriptions of the codices, over 1800 catalog entries and 6000 digitized images, and related materials, including bibliographies, transcriptions, and sound files
Use Tripod to find recordings held by the Tri-Colleges, and limit the "Collection" to Sound Recordings. Some selected recordings and videos are listed below.