Skip to Main Content

Arabic Language & Literature: Research Sources

Outreach Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

112 McCabe

610-328-8541

Librarian

Arleen Zimmerle

she/her

Contact:

azimmerl@brynmawr.edu

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Dance, East Asian Languages & Cultures, English Literature, Film & Media Studies, French & Francophone Studies, German Studies, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Theater

Research Sources

ProQuest Arts and Humanities Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Arts & Humanities reflects the interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.

Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides biographies, bibliographies and scholarly articles on novelists, poets, essayists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of highly-studied authors.

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.

Dictionaries

Arabic English Dictionary by Hans Wehr
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
The Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic by Hans Wehr is widely regarded as the foremost Arabic-English bilingual or translation dictionary and has particular usefulness for students of Modern Standard Arabic.
A Dictionary of Arabic Literary Terms and Devices
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This dictionary provides clear definitions of the most important literary terms and devices in classical and modern Arabic literature.

Primary Sources

University of Washington Libraries Guide

A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Middle Eastern history.