MUSI 006D Performing Resistance: Black Music & Protest in the African Diaspora (SC)

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in many disciplines including music, latin american studies, african american studies, sociology, anthropology.

Covers all topics related to music, including musical instruments, compositional forms and scientific topics. Biographical entries cover composers, performers and writers. Offers links to related sites including sound archives.

Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.

1998-2002, Bruno Nettl (Editor); Ruth M. Stone (Editor); James Porter (Editor); Timothy Rice (Editor). "Garland's ambitious 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Although each volume will differ because of the nature of the material, the organization remains consistent throughout all: regional overviews first; music in the social context next; then finally, the musical traditions of individual countries or ethnic groups. Of exceptional value are the CDs that accompany each volume, often with previously unrecorded music, as well as the resource guides, extensive bibliographies, and photographs. Separate pricing makes it easy to buy just the volumes that your patrons need and will use."--"Outstanding Reference Sources : the 1999 Selection of New Titles", American Libraries, May 1999.

2005. Molefi Kete Asante, Mambo Ama Mazama (Editors) "Over 240 signed articles by nearly 200 scholars, organized A to Z, with coverage spanning the social sciences Edited by the founder and current editor of the Journal of Black Studies. Topics Covered * Afrocentricity * Annual Conferences * Anti-Racism * Arts * Associations and Organizations * Books * Campus Politics * Civil Rights * Classical Africa * Concepts * Culture * Departmental Histories * Films * Intellectual Schools * Institutions * Journals * Legal Issues * Movements * Newspapers * Political Issues * Professional Organizations * Publishers * Racism * Religion * Reparations * Research Centers * Resistance * Theories * United States Constitution"