Martha Carey Thomas (1857-1935) was the critical figure shaping Bryn Mawr College during its formative years, first as Dean of the College from 1884 to 1894, and then as President until her retirement in 1922. During those years she was also one of the country’s leading public advocates for women’s education, and was also prominent in the women’s suffrage, women’s rights, and world peace movements.
This bibliography is based on the list of Thomas’s publications that appeared in the publication marking her retirement in 1922, supplemented by work done by Anne Bruder and Jennifer Redmond as directors of the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education in 2011 through 2014, and subsequently by Eric Pumroy and Miles DeClue '22 in 2021 and 2022. Miles DeClue wrote most of the summaries.
Most of the publications have been digitized, and the citations include links to the online editions, either directly to Thomas’s article or to the first page of the volume in which the article appears. Many of the links are to open access sites, particularly the Internet Archive and the Greenfield Digital Center. In a number of cases, though, the online versions are only available through commercial sites, notably 19th Century Collections Online and Adam Matthew's Gender: Identity and Social Change. The commercial sites are all available to members of the Tri-College community, but not to the general public.
Special Collections also holds M. Carey Thomas's voluminous personal and presidential papers. See the online guide to the Thomas Papers for additional information.
One of six letters addressing the opening of the Johns Hopkins Medical School to Women; Thomas stresses how this decision will put women on equal footing with men in pursuing a medical school education, the necessity of preparing women in advance for graduate study, and the special qualities a woman can bring to the profession; approx. 1 page.
Thomas, M. Carey. Letter, January 26, 1891. The Nation 52 (February 5 1891), 114. Regarding campaign for women to be admitted to the Johns Hopkins Medical School. Link.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Addresses Delivered at the Opening of the Graduate Department for Women, University of Pennsylvania, Wednesday, May 4, 1892.” Philadelphia: Allen, Lane & Scott’s Printing House, 1892. In Adam Matthew Digital Collection: Gender: Identity and Social Change. LINK
Thomas’s address appears after opening remarks by Rev. Wm. H. Furness and an address by James Mac Alister, Esq. In it she discusses the advances made in Europe, Canada and the United States for the education of women, while discussing the “anomaly” of Germany. She also outlines the differences between an undergraduate and a graduate education. 14 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “The Duties of the State and City to Higher Education.” Address presented at the Department of Education, Civic Club, February 2, 1895. 7 pp. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas addresses the right of the general state or municipal government to tax the people for the support of higher education. She cites the welfare of the community as a whole as the primary reason and also uses Europe as an example. 7 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “The New Pedagogy.” Address presented at the Department of Education, Civic Club, March 15, 1895. 7 pp. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas establishes a two-fold inquiry into the nature of the new pedagogy and the nature of the methods by which it can be most speedily introduced into schools in Philadelphia and throughout the United States. This new education means, to Thomas, the development of all a child’s powers, as distinguished from mere instruction. It should be a “delightful” education. 7 pages
Thomas, M. Carey. Speech. Printed in Addresses Delivered at a Memorial Meeting held in honor of James E. Rhoads, LL.D. 1895. Copy in Bryn Mawr College Archives.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Mr. Sage and Co-education.” In Memorial Exercises in Honor of Henry Williams Sage. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University, 1898. 12 pp. In the Hathi Trust. LINK
Thomas discusses the advances made by Mr. Sage, former president of the Cornell University Board of Trustees and lumber magnate, in the growth of equal educational opportunities for women. 12 pages
Thomas, M. Carey. “The Association of Collegiate Alumnae in its Relation to Women’s Education.” In Publications of the Association of Collegiate Alumnae, Series III, No. 1, December 1898. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas discusses the need for women to have the same level of secondary and collegiate education as men as well as the discrepancy in the Association of Collegiate Alumni between men and women’s college as well as secondary education. Thomas advocates for more funding for girls secondary education in order for them to be better prepared for higher education.
Thomas, M. Carey. Education of Women. Vol. 7. Monographs in Education in the United States, ed. Nicholas Murray Butler. Albany: J.B. Lyon Company, 1899. Published by the Department of Education for the United States Commission to the Paris Exposition of 1900. 40 pp. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
This is one of the reports by the Department of Education for the United States Commission to the Paris Exposition of 1900. It includes sections on college education and professional education throughout the United States, as well as social factors like marriage rates. 40 pages
Thomas, M. Carey. “To the Alumni.” In Proceedings of the Associate Alumni of Cornell University, June 1899. Ithaca, NY: Printed by the Executive Committee, 1900. Pp.43-45. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas includes a section on “The Women of the University” (43-45).
Thomas, M. Carey. Address. Celebration of the Quarter Centenary of Smith College, October 2-3, 1900. Cambridge: Riverside Press, 1900. 183-92. Google Books. LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. “College Entrance Requirements.” Address presented to the Association of Collegiate Alumnae, Annual Meeting, New York, NY, November 10, 1900. 15pp. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
This address begins as a rebuttal to the address presented by Dr. A.F. Nightingale, superintendent of high schools in Chicago, at the last annual meeting. After this she states that, since most of Nightingale’s ideas come from those of President Eliot of Harvard, she will “argue the question with President Eliot himself” (4). While she agrees with much of what Eliot says, she disagrees with what Nightingale has reiterated: that “the equivalence of all subjects, if equally well taught, for mental training and discipline, and the swift and early individualization of the human intelligence, coupled with the belief that this early individuality of taste or aptitude indications with sureness future mental development” (6). 15 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Should the Higher Education of Women Differ from That of Men?” Educational Review 21 (1901), 1-10.In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. “The College Women of the Present and Future.” McClure’s Syndicate. 1901. 6 pp. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas writes about the superior status of the United States in educating women. She spends a significant amount of time dispelling the assumption that a college education is detrimental to marriage, having children, and family life. 6 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “The Future of Women in Independent Study and Research.” Address presented to the Association of Collegiate Alumnae, Washington, D.C., November 14. 1902. Reprinted from the Publications of the Association of Collegiate Alumnae, Series III, Number 6. 7 pages. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas refers to the subject of her address as of “paramount importance” (1). She begins by noting all the stereotypes and assumptions that have been overcome in the drive for educational opportunities for women. The thrust of her talk is on what she calls the “last lurking place of prejudice,” that women lack the capacity for original thought. 7 pages
Thomas, M. Carey. “Influence of Educated Women for Arbitration and Peace.” In Report of the Eighth Annual Meeting of the Lake Mohonk Conference on International Arbitration, 1902. The Lake Mohonk Arbitration Conference: 1902. pp 29-32. In Hathi Trust. LINK
Thomas stresses that the 20th century will see women having a wider direct influence on international affairs. 5 pages
Thomas, M. Carey. “Educated Women in 20th Century.” Address to the General Federation of Women’s Clubs, St. Louis, MO, 1904. 3p. Trico Digital Collections. LINK
Among other things, Thomas discusses the backlash against women gaining ground in education, such as the proliferation of women teachers leading to the unsuccessful education of men. 3 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. Education of Women. Vol. 7. Monographs in Education in the United States, ed. Nicholas Murray Butler. Albany: J.B. Lyon Company, 1904. Published for the Division of Exhibits, Department of Education, Universal Exposition, St. Louis, 1904. Reprint of monograph for Paris Exposition in 1900.
This is a reprint of the above publication. It was published for the Division of Exhibits, Department of Education, Universal Exposition, St. Louis, 1904. 40 pages
Thomas, M. Carey. “Women and Arbitration,” in The Woman’s Journal, Vol. 35, #19, p.152 (May 7, 1904). In 19th Century Collections Online: LINK
In this article Thomas outlines three core reasons for the inclusion of women in matters regarding national and international policies, specifically surrounding war. Approx. 1 page.
Thomas, M. Carey. “In Memory of Mary Helen Ritchie.” Address delivered at a Memorial Service, Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, PA, February 3, 1905. 5 pp. Trico Digital Collections. LINK
This address was made at a memorial service for Mary Helen Ritchie, who received her BA, MA, and PhD from Bryn Mawr before becoming Secretary of the College. Miss Ritchie died from complications caused by being thrown from a horse. 5 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Address on Behalf of Bryn Mawr College in Memory of Anna Hallowell.” Addresses made at the meeting held in memory of Anna Hallowell at the Philadelphia Normal School, May 11, 1905 together with the letters and resolutions then received. Philadelphia, PA.
This is a compilation of all the addresses made in memory of Anna Hallowell at a meeting on May 11, 1905. Anna Hallowell was a welfare worker, educational reformer, and kindergarten leader (at Philadelphia Normal School for Girls) according to Notable American women, 1607-1950: a biographical dictionary, Volume 2. She was the first woman to be chosen as a member of the Board of Public Education. Thomas’s address focuses on Anna Hallowell’s support for the higher education of women. In particular, she discusses Hallowell’s support of the Woman’s Hospital in Philadelphia; her role in bringing the Harvard examinations for women to Philadelphia; and her provision of advice to Thomas during the first years of BMC. 2 pages (8-10)
Thomas, M. Carey. “The College.” Paper read before the International Congress of Arts and Science, Department 23 (The College), Section 3, Louisiana Purchase Exposition, St. Louis, MO, September 19-24, 1904. Reprinted from the Educational Review, January 1905. 22pp. Trico Digital Collections. LINK
Thomas’s paper is a defense of the “College,” which she defines as a “four years’ course of liberal, non-professional study, superimposed on the course of the high school, the private school, or academy.” Her goal here is to emphasize the lack of distinction between colleges and universities, citing how Oxford and Cambridge are themselves composed of several colleges. She also defends the established four year course, even if the last year is sacrificed for continuation on to a professional degree. She asserts that the college of the future will be coeducational and stresses that women must decide whether their curriculum should be the same as that provided for men. 22 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. College Education for Our Girls. Newspaper op-ed from The Index (Pittsburgh, PA), May 13, 1905. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas writes about the statistics surrounding women in secondary and higher education and finds that more women are finishing high school and going to college than men. Thomas also discusses various college’s move from men only to co-educational schooling and the increasing ways that women are accessing the same educational opportunities as men.
Thomas, M. Carey. “In Memory of David Scull.” Address delivered to the students of Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, PA, November 27, 1907. 5 pages.
This is an address in memory of the President of the Board of Trustees and the President of the Board of Directors of Bryn Mawr College. 5 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Women’s College and University Education.” Address delivered at the Quarter-Centennial Meeting of the Association of Collegiate Alumnae, Boston, MA, November 6, 1907. Reprinted from the Educational Review, January 1908. 20 pages. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas’s address celebrates the winning of the battle for the higher education of women in the first twenty-five years of the Association of Collegiate Alumnae. She begins with personal anecdotes about initial doubts over women’s fitness for higher education. She then starts to summarize nearly two decades of women in higher education, using examples from Bryn Mawr. She discusses curriculum, and the economic conditions that are leading women to enter professional schools. Towards the end she asserts her belief that every woman’s college ought to maintain not only a graduate school of philosophy of the highest grade, but also a purely graduate school of education connected with a small practice school. She emphasizes the great need for encouraging women to do research work through research chairs and fellowships. 20 pages.
Thomas, M. Carey. “In Memory of Walter Cope, Architect of Bryn Mawr College.” Address Delivered by President M. Carey Thomas at a Memorial Service held at Bryn Mawr College, November 4, 1902. Published in the Bryn Mawr College Lantern, February 1905. Reprinted by request, June 1908. In Scholarship, Research, and Creative Work at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas addresses the students of Bryn Mawr College to honor the life of Bryn Mawr and Haverford College architect, Walter Cope.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Closing Address by the President of the College,” in Bryn Mawr College. Twenty-fifth Anniversary. Bryn Mawr: 1910, pp. 42-59. In Scholarship, Research, and Creative Work at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas gives the closing remarks for Bryn Mawr’s Twenty-fifth Anniversary celebration in which she discusses the history of Bryn Mawr and its work to further a liberal arts education for women.
Thomas, M. Carey. “What College Women Mean to a Community. What Goucher College Means to Baltimore. Address Given at the College Women’s Rally, McCoy Hall, Johns Hopkins University, December 3, 1912.” Printed by Goucher College, 1913. In Gender: Identity and Social Change: LINK
Thomas addresses The College Women’s Rally at Johns Hopkins University in regards to the importance of Goucher College as a women’s college. Thomas aims to persuade the audience to donate in order to prevent the closing of Goucher College.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Fraternities in Women’s Colleges – The Snobbish and Undemocratic Basis of the Fraternity System.” The Century Magazine, Vol. 85, #4, February 1913. LINK
This is a section of a larger article in which Thomas describes the dangers of fraternities and sororities to women’s colleges. Thomas discusses the fraternities in place at Cornell University and concludes by calling Greek life both “evil” and “undemocratic”.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Address of President M. Carey Thomas at the Opening of Bryn Mawr College, September 29, 1915.” Bryn Mawr Alumnae Quarterly, Vol. 9, No. 3, November 1915. Pp. 111-115. Internet Archive: LINK
This is an address published in the Bryn Mawr Alumnae Quarterly in which Thomas addresses the Bryn Mawr College community at its thirty-second opening. Thomas compares American education to that of other nations' educational system. Throughout her speech, Thomas uses this time to discuss the need to enforce white superiority in education as well as the Bryn Mawr student’s self-government association.
Thomas, M. Carey. "Address by President Thomas at the Opening of the College." Alumnae Quarterly vol. 10, no. 3 (November 1916), 101. Internet Archive: LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. “On Uneducated Quaker Women and Their Effect on the Quaker Church.” Address given at the Educational Conference of The Committee on Education of Philadelphia Yearly Meeting, Twelfth Month, 1915. Reprinted by permission from the Westonian First Month, 1916. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
This address is given by Thomas at the Educational Conference of The Committee on Education of Philadelphia Yearly Meeting. Thomas focuses on the education of Quaker women in which she shares personal anecdotes about her efforts to get a college education. Thomas writes about the importance of Quaker girls to be supported in their endeavors in seeking higher education.
International Federation of University Women. “Report of the First Conference, July 1920.” London: [International Federation of University Women, 1920]. Includes extensive summary of discussion “Next Steps for University Women,” led by M. Carey Thomas. Discussion topics were “Co-education,” “Equal Pay for Equal Work,” “Married Women Workers,” and “Reward of Merit.” Pp. 55-71. In Hathi Trust. LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. “Address at the Opening of Bryn Mawr College on Wednesday, September 29, 1920”. Alumnae Quarterly vol. 14, no. 4 (November 1920), p. 127-133. Internet Archive: LINK
Thomas addresses the student body, faculty, and staff at the opening of Bryn Mawr in 1920 after her fourteen month sabbatical. In her speech Thomas reflects on women’s suffrage as well as her time spent in various countries such as Syria and Palestine and enforcing her belief in white supremacy.
Thomas, M. Carey. "The Mediterranean Basin: Impressions of a Sentimental Traveller." The Bryn Mawr Alumnae Bulletin, January (p.5), February (p.6), April (p.7), 1921. Internet Archive: LINK to 1921 issues of Bryn Mawr Alumnae Bulletin
Thomas, M. Carey. "The Next President of Bryn Mawr College." Bryn Mawr Alumnae Bulletin (May 1921), pp.6-11. Internet Archive: LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. "The Woman's Programme. Address given at the University Women's Meeting in Carnegie Hall, May 18th at 4:00 pm to welcome Madam Marie Curie." Bryn Mawr Alumnae Bulletin (June 1921), 7-17. Internet Archive: LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. “Farewell Address, Given at Commencement, June 8, 1922". Bryn Mawr Alumnae Bulletin (July 1922), pp.5-12. June and July 1922 issues of the Alumnae Bulletin include large numbers of testimonials on behalf of Thomas upon her retirement. Internet Archive: LINK
Thomas reflects on her tenure at Bryn Mawr in which she discusses Bryn Mawr’s Students Association for Self-Government, past presidents, and the future of Bryn Mawr College.
Thomas, M. Carey. "Address at Opening of the Second Summer School for Women Workers in Industry at Bryn Mawr College." June 14, 1922. In the Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women’s Education at Bryn Mawr College: LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. Address delivered at The College Evening of the Thirty-Eighth Annual Convention of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, Baltimore, MD, February 8, 1906. 6 pp (27-31). In Adam Matthew Digital Collection: Gender: Identity and Social Change. LINK
This is a compilation of addresses made by representatives from women’s colleges in the United States. It is described on the frontispiece as “A tribute of gratitude from representatives of women’s colleges; What has been accomplished for the higher education of women by Susan B. Anthony and other woman suffragists.” Thomas’s speech begins with stating that women constitute over one-third of the entire student body and how this number is steadily increasing. She then uses this to strengthen her argument in favor of the vote for women. She supports her argument with personal anecdotes. 6 pages (27-31).
Thomas, M. Carey. “Dr. Thomas on Woman’s Ballot.” Political Equality Series, published by the National American Woman Suffrage Association. Vol. 2, #2. [1906]. Trico Digital Collections. LINK
Thomas writes about women’s suffrage and the necessity for women’s voices to be represented in elections in order to protect their own personal interests.
Thomas, M. Carey. Address. "A New Fashioned Argument for Woman Suffrage." College Evening of the NAWSA. October 17, 1908, reprinted 1911. In 19th Century Collections Online: LINK
International Federation of University Women. “Report of the First Conference, July 1920.” London: [International Federation of University Women, 1920]. Includes extensive summary of discussion “Next Steps for University Women,” led by M. Carey Thomas. Discussion topics were “Co-education,” “Equal Pay for Equal Work,” “Married Women Workers,” and “Reward of Merit.” Pp. 55-71. In Hathi Trust. LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. "To Outlaw War: A Declaration of Interdependence by the United States." Ways to Peace. Ed. Esther Everette Lape. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1924. 151-70. Trico Digital Collections. LINK
Thomas, M. Carey. "How to Get Into the League of Nations." February 25, 1924. Democratic Women's Luncheon Club of Philadelphia. In Women and Social Movements International.
Thomas, M. Carey. “Argument for a Woman’s Equal Rights Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.” Journal of the American Association of University Women 18 (March 1925), 22-28. In Adam Matthew Digital Collection: Gender: Identity and Social Change. LINK