Policing, Prisons, and Death Penalty Materials in Haverford College Special Collections

By Roberts Vaux, published Philadelphia, 1826
Includes tables exhibiting the number of criminals imprisoned in the jail at Philadelphia from 1787 to the beginning of 1825, along with information regarding the offences they were convicted of. Bound with Vaux' letter on the penitentiary system of Pennsylvania and his reply to two letters of William Roscoe.

By Robert J. Turnbull, published in Philadelphia, 1796
Originally published in the Charleston Daily Gazette, this document includes detailed physical descriptions of the Philadelphia prison along with background information on the penal code of Pennsylvania and Quaker activism for penal reform. It was written by Robert J. Turnbull, a South Carolina lawyer and advocate for nullification.

By Elizabeth Wright and Peter Paul Jonitis, published Philadelphia, 1982
This collection is comprised of the two volume manuscript by Peter P. and Elizabeth W. Jonitis, entitled "Memoirs of the Prison Society: Biographical Vignettes of the Managers of the Philadelphia Society for Assisting Distressed Prisoners and the Members of the Philadelphia Society for Alleviating the Miseries of Public Prisons, 1787-1830." The biographical sketches were compiled in order to determine how many of the 344 members of the organizations were Quakers, so as to study Quaker contributions to early prison reform in the United States.

By Thomas Fowell Buxton, published London, 1818
In this text, Buxton calls for a drastic change in the operation and purpose of prisons, arguing that in their current state, prisons actually encourage crime and promote recidivism rather than reforming offenders. Buxton was a member of the English Parliament and lifelong humanitarian advocate who fought for prison reform and the abolition of capital punishment.

By Francis Lieber, published Philadelphia, 1838
In his letter to John Bacon, German-American political philosopher Francis Lieber discusses the nature, object, and standards of punishment. He provides characteristics that sound punishment should possess, and critiques existing forms of punishment against the criteria he has developed. Lieber states his belief that the state has a moral duty to punish citizens for their crimes, and argues in favor of the Pennsylvania system of solitary confinement.

By the Philadelphia Society for Alleviating the Miseries of Public Prisons, published Philadelphia, 1838
This document includes the act of incorporation of the Philadelphia Society, a copy of their constitution, and lists of their officers and members in 1835.

By Job R. Tyson, published Philadelphia, 1827
In this essay, American politician Job R. Tyson details historical views on punishment in Pennsylvania, and gives an overview of different types of crimes and their existing punishments. He also provides provides a historical sketch of the prisons in Pennsylvania.

By Richard Whatley, published London, 1832
This letter from Richard Whatley, an English archbishop, theologian, and social reformer, includes two articles on transportation to New South Wales, and on secondary punishments, and some observations on colonization.

By Edward Farley, published London, 1788
Attorney Edward Farley argues that the practice of imprisonment for debt violates the British constitution and is detrimental to both the creditor and the debtor.

By Charles Spear, published Boston, 1846-1861
A monthly magazine published by unitarian minister and reformer Charles Spear that was dedicated to criminal reform, philosophy, science, literature, and art.

By Elisha Bates, published Mt. Pleasant, Ohio, 1821/22-1824
A monthly publication from Quaker minister Elisha Bates on war, dueling, capital punishments, and prison discipline.