Research Guides: EALC 256: Zen Thought, Zen Culture, Zen History (HC/BMC): Develop your literature review

What this section can do for you

This tab includes further information on handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries and bibliographies.

Handbooks are subject area tools and provide facts, terms, concepts, movements, etc.
Subject dictionaries focus on word definitions in a specific subject area.
Encyclopedias provide basic and general background information on a topic or subject.
Bibliographies are sources that contain detailed information about where to find further information on a specific topic or subject. Sometimes these look like the bibliographies you might compile at the end of a term paper. Sometimes they are books or online resources with a list of resources. Other times they act like annotated bibliographies, with short essays or statements describing the resource and why it might be useful to a researcher. Bibliographies differ from handbooks because they go into further depth on a topic. They may include critical essays where the author identifies the core literature of a field of study. It illustrates what is available in a given field, while a literature review often opens up questions for new inquiries.

Background Information: online editions

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Edward A. Irons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1438141777
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
The Encyclopedia of Buddhism provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today. Although the primary focus of the encyclopedia is clearly on Buddhism in all its forms, it also provides introductions to Daoism, Shinto, Confucianism, and other religious practices in East and Southeast Asia.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0028657187
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.
The Religious Traditions of Asia by Joseph Kitagawa (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1138146765
Publication Date: 2016-05-11
This essential student textbook consists of seventeen sections, all written by leading scholars in their different fields. They cover all the religious traditions of Southwest Asia, Southeast Asia, Central Asia, Tibet, and East Asia. The major traditions that are described and discussed are (from the Southwest) Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, Sikhism and Islam, and (from the East) Taoism, Confucianism and Shinto. In addition, the tradition of Bon in Tibet, the shamanistic religions of Inner Asia, and general Chinese, Korean and Japanese religion are also given full coverage. The emphasis throughout is on clear description and analysis, rather than evaluation. Ten maps are provided to add to the usefulness of this book, which has its origin in the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Mircea Eliade of the University of Chicago.
Esoteric Buddhism and the Tantras in East Asia by Charles D. Orzech (Volume Editor); Henrik H. Sørensen (Volume Editor); Richard Payne (Volume Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9004184910
Publication Date: 2010-12-10
In all likelihood, it was the form of Buddhism labeled "Esoteric Buddhism" that had the greatest geographical spread of any form of Buddhism. It left its imprint not only on its native India, but far beyond, on Southeast Asia, Central Asia, including Tibet and Mongolia, as well as the East Asian countries China, Korea and Japan. Not only has Esoteric Buddhism contributed substantially to the development of Buddhism in many cultures, but it also facilitated the transmission of religious art and material culture, science and technology. This volume, the result of an international collaboration of forty scholars, provides a comprehensive resource on Esoteric Buddhism and the Tantras in their Chinese, Korean, and Japanese contexts from the first few centuries of the common era right up to the present. Contributors include: Barbara Ambrose, Anna Andreeva, Sarah Aptilon, Ian Astley, Clemente Beghi, Heather Blair, William Bodiford, Chen Jinhua, Paul Copp, Ronald M. Davidson, Lucia Dolce, Athanasios Drakakis, Donald Drummond, Ruth Dunnell, Jay Ford, David Gardiner, Rolf Giebel, Robert M. Gimello, David Gray, Elizabeth ten Grotenhuis, Nobumi Iyanaga, George Keyworth, Martin Lehnert, Hun Y. Lye, Shinya Mano, Richard M. McBride, Laura Meeks, Regan Murphy, Charles D. Orzech, Richard K. Payne, Klaus Pinte, Fabio Rambelli, Thierry Robouam, James Robson, Brian Ruppert, Neil Schmid, Gaynor Sekimori, Shen Weirong, Henrik H. S rensen, Mark Unno, Pamela Winfield
Early Buddhist Art of China and Central Asia by Marylin Martin Rhie
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9004161376
Publication Date: 2007-05-15
The earliest Buddhist art of China can only be understood when seen in relation to a wider area comprising Central Asia and India. This is exactly the purpose of the underlying volume.Presenting the earliest Buddhist art of China in its wider context of the Bactrian and Southern Silk Road regions in Central Asia (1st to 4th century A.D.), the author offers clarifications of the issues and new assessments regarding the cross-cultural and cross-regional interrelationships, sources, dating and chronology during these formative initial phases of Buddhism from India to China.With over 500 illustrations, 18 in full colour, 76 drawings and 14 maps, the book offers not only an overview of this complex and important period, but also the fullest and most detailed analysis of the art: individually, within its local region, and in relation to the wider, trans-Asian scope essential for a proper understanding of this period for a wide range of disciplines.

Background Information: Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries (print only)

Here is a selected list of materials you may find useful. Handbooks provide readers with a summary overview of a topic and include carefully selected bibliographies. Be sure to look at the lists for further reading provided by the authors of the entries--they will be especially useful for you as you deepen your research.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2007) Routledge publication.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (2004) 2 volume edition.
An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints, and Demons With special focus on iconographic attributes (1994).
Routledge Handbook of Religions in Asia (2016)
Companion to Asian Art and Architecture The most relevant chapter is "Revisiting Asian Art" (p. 3) which has an excellent introduction to the ways of seeing Asian art and how to appropriately analyze Asian art in a historical context.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and the Arts (2014) Chapter on Buddhism but introductory chapters might also prove useful.
The Buddhist Handbook: A Complete Guide to Buddhist Schools, Teaching, Practice, and History (1991)