Research Guides: SPAN 490: Senior Departmental Studies (HC) Fall 2020: Digital Repositories Outside the TriCo

Digital Collections

Biblioteca Nacional de España
Digitized collections from the National Library of Spain.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Use Europeana to search through millions of digitized books, art, newspapers, and other sources from European museums, galleries and national libraries.
HathiTrust
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges are members of HathiTrust. Click on "Log In" and select your college for full access.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that is building an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes more than 300,000 texts, as well as audio, moving images, software and archived web pages. A good source for books printed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including many travel accounts.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Online library of more than a million books digitized from the collections of Harvard, Stanford, Michigan, and many other university libraries. The complete texts are available for books in the public domain - principally books printed before 1923. A potential source of published travel accounts from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

LANIC : Latin American Network Information Center
Web site of the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas at Austin's Institute of Latin American Studies (ILAS). Lists and links to a Latin American country index and to a subject index that includes information on Latin American agriculture, art, business, government, health, military, music, and travel. Provides access to the WWW Virtual Library and ILAS home pages and to other Latin American resources on the WWW.
Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
LARRP is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. Key projects include:
- Latin American Open Archives Portal LAOAP, a portal service, provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, nongovernmental organizations, and peripheral agencies. It encompasses working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials not controlled by commercial publishers.
- Presidential Messages -- The Presidential Messages database contains digital images of more than 75,000 pages of Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.