ARTS 202: Enactment and Reenactment (HC)

The 1835 2nd edition, including an unsigned memoir of Wheatley's life.

Also includes "Poems by a slave" by George Moses Horton. This is the third edition.

Phillis Wheatley was taken by slavers as a small child. Her slaveowners in Massachusetts taught her to read and encouraged her gift for writing poetry. Read more about her in the American National Biography.

This letter is a part of the American poet section of the Charles Roberts Autograph Letters Collection.
Call No. 110

Author's edition published in 1876, this work by Whitman includes poems and prose focused on a variety of different subjects.
Call No. PS3201 1876

Published in 1887, this broadside was written for John Greenleaf Whittier's 80th birthday and includes two letters about its composition.
Call No. MS110

Brooklyn, New York, 1856.
The second edition.

Boston : Thayer and Eldridge, year 85 of the States, (1860-61).
Spurious or pirated version of the third edition.

New York : [W.E. Chapin & co., printers], 1867.
Fourth edition, Third issue.

HC Special Collections copy.

New York : [W.E. Chapin & co., printers], 1867.
Fourth edition, fourth issue.

Washington, D.C. ; [New York : Electrotyped by Smith & McDougal], 1872.

Camden, N.J., 1876.
Author's edition. Inscribed by former owner, with a note on apparent uniqueness of this copy.

Published in 1892 this book was released after Whitman passed away and gives a short autobiography of his life.
Call No. PS3231 .A5

Written around 1888 in Danvers, Massachussets to the editor of the Transcript, Whittier discusses his monetary support of Whitman.
Call No. MS851

This letter is part of several in the American Friends' Letters Collection. It pertains mainly to slavery and the importance of the anti-Slavery movement in relation to the women's rights movement.
Call No. MS851 Box 18

This book includes a collection of poems from John Greenleaf Whittier and Amelia (Alderson) Opie, published in 1835.
Call No. BX7796.3 .W63 G45

First edition copy given to William Allinson by Whittier himself in 1863.
Call No. BX7723.4 .W62 M69

Written by Whittier in 1837, this book of poetry was a controversial presentation of the issue of slavery during its time.
Call No. BX7723 .W62 P7 1837

This book was written by Whittier in 1838 and published by the American anti-slavery society.
Call No. BX7759 .W63 N2

Existing in a few editions, this 1838 collection of anti-slavery poems may contain illustrations and plates.
Call No. BX7723 .W62 P7 1838 and PS3267 .S3 1850a

Published in 1840, this work features Quaker poets such as E.H. Whittier, W.J. Allinson, and J.G. Whittier and focuses on injustices of the trade of enslaved people and the quest for freedom.

This 1844 edition of a collection of Whittier poetry was given to William J. Allinson in 1846.
Call No. BX7723 .W62 B18

Published in Salem, Ohio by The Anti-Slavery Bugle around 1845, this pamphlet contains Whittier poetry and is part of the Easter Pennsylvania Anti-Slavery Society Tract.
Call No. BX7723.4 .W62 B8 1845

This is a first edition volume with an advertisement from May of 1850 at the front. This is a collection of various Whittier poems.
Call No. PS3267 .S3 1850

"A collection of poems for the times" published in 1861. It includes multiple authors besides Whittier.

Originally published in 1863; our copy is from 1864.
Call no. PS3259 .I5 1864

Published in 1865.
Call no. PS3264 .N2 1865

Perhaps Whittier's most famous poem.
Call no. BX7723.W62 S6 1866

First edition, one of the earliest copies, with 12 pages of advertisements.
Call no. BX7723.W62 P2 1856a

In addition to poems by Whittier, this 1866 collection includes poems by Oliver Wendell Holmes and William Cullen Bryant.
Call no. BX7723.4.W62 N27 1866

Published in 1860.
Call no. PS3258 .A1 1860