Research Guides: Researching Art in the Middle Ages (HC): Other Art Forms

Architecture

Art and Architecture of the Middle Ages : Exploring a Connected World
Dismantles the religious, political, and geographic walls that have separated medieval art and architecture and treats not only western Europe but also the Byzantine Empire and the Islamicate world from ca. 200 CE to ca. 1450 CE. See also the companion website.

Elaine C. Block Database of Misericords
Misericords are ledges attached beneath hinged choir stall seats. They provide support for those standing during services. Misericords are often carved with figures or scenes, ranging from the sacred to the profane. This database has over 17,000 images.
Kornbluth Photography: Documenting the Luxury Arts
Features high quality photographs of jewelry, metalwork, textiles and other luxury artworks.
Kunera: Late Medieval Badges and Ampullae
Database of more than 15,000 lead objects that reflect popular themes in religion and secular life.

Gothic Ivories
Database of over 5,000 carved ivories from more than 400 collections. Sponsored by the Courtauld Institute of Art. This is a major resource for researchers.

Medieval Mosaics
Offers photographs and extensive commentary by Liz James, a professor of Byzantine art.
The Composition of Byzantine Glass Mosaic Tesserae
Provides information about the structures in which Byzantine mosaics remain as well as primary sources and scholarship about them. Does not include images.

Medieval Wall Painting in the English Parish Church
Includes indexing of images by subject
Death in Art
Representations of death in art including the medieval Dance of Death and the Three Living and the Three dead.

Ards: The Platform for Medieval Sculpture
Offers rich collections of image resources, scholarship and research tools.
Corpus of Anglo Saxon Stone Sculpture
Mapping Gothic France
See details of sculptures from churches in the 12th and 13th centruies.
Romanesque Art and Architecture
Thousands of images of French sculpture and architecture
Set in Stone: The Face in Medieval Sculpture
Online exhibition from the Metropolitan Museum. See also the exhibition catalog in the Tricollege libraries.
Last Statues of Antiquity
Searchable database that includes images with many of the records.

Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (CVMA) of Great Britain
This link is for the picture archive.
Corpus Vitrearum National Projects
Note in particular the project for France. It is very rich in photographs from Chartres and Bourges.
Corpus Vitrearum USA
Checklists are available online without images. Published volumes in the Corpus Vitrearum United States of America series (in print) have selected images.
Image Galleries
Selected websites for medieval stained glass from various countries.
Online Stained Glass Photographic Archive
Painton Cowen presents over 50, 000 photographs primarily from France and England.