WRPR 116: Black Philadelphia (HC)

Local news in Philly & region provided by WHYY public radio.

Founded in 1884, the Tribune is the oldest continually published African-American newspaper in the U.S. Early issues were lost; full page images start in 1912.

BMC: Full text (page images) from 2010 to last week.
HC: 1978-present
SC: Last 6 months

Coverage: 1914-1942. Available from the Library of Congress.

Coverage: 1881-1910. Available on Google.

Coverage: 1854-1856, 1861-1902. Early African American weekly with national and foreign news as well as issues relating to religion, morality and the arts.

This database includes the Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836-1876) and the Philadelphia North American (1839-1879) as well as other papers published in the city.

An important early North American newspaper published in Philadelphia. Edited for many years by Benjamin Franklin.
Coverage: 1728-1807, 1810-1815

The online student newspaper of Bryn Mawr and Haverford Colleges. Coverage: 2016 to the present.

Coverage: 2012-2023. Access through Newsbank.

Coverage: 2000-2008. Access through the Internet Archives

Coverage: 1968-2000

The College News, the student newspaper of Bryn Mawr College. For archival issues from 1914-1996, see Scholarship, Research, and Creative Work at Bryn Mawr College.

Haverford publication. Coverage: 1909-1914

Online student newspaper of the University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA)

Coverage 1914-1986

Online student newspaper of Swarthmore College.

Historical issues, 1968 to 1984

1914-1968

1909-1914

1898-1932