Skip to Main Content

RUSS 014 The Russian Novel (SC)

Russian 014: The Russian Novel: Revolution, Terror and Resistance (Vergara) Fall 2020 This guide supports the study of the Russian novel from the years following the Bolshevik Revolution, through the Soviet period, and into the post-Cold War era.

Author Biographies: START HERE

Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides biographies, bibliographies and scholarly articles on novelists, poets, essayists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of highly-studied authors.

A History of Russian Literature by Andrew Kahn; Mark Lipovetsky; Irina Reyfman; Stephanie Sandler
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For BIOGRAPHIES START here: A History of Russian Literature [2018] provides a comprehensive account of Russian writing from its earliest origins up to the present day.

Background - Russian Literature

The Cambridge History of Russian Literature by Charles A. Moser (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0521425670
Publication Date: 1992-04-30
provide chronological coverage from the medieval period on, giving particular attention to An introduction to the nineteenth and twentieth centuries up to 1992.
Russian Literature Since 1991 by Evgeny Dobrenko (Editor); Mark Lipovetsky (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1316426769
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
Russian Literature since 1991 is the first comprehensive, single-volume compendium of modern scholarship on post-Soviet Russian literature.
The Last Years of Soviet Russian Literature by Deming Bronson Brown
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0511554052
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
This book provides a comprehensive survey of developments in Russian prose over the last fifteen years of the Soviet regime.
The Cambridge Introduction to Russian Literature by Caryl Emerson
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PG2951 .E47 2008
Beginning with traditional Russian narratives, the book moves through literary history chronologically and thematically, juxtaposing literary texts from each major period.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.