Research Guides: DANC 049K/054/064: Hip Hop Dance (SC): Finding Videos

Videos

When Hip Hop Becomes Art : Revitalizing contemporary dance
2013 "This film explores the evolution of hip hop, from its inception where audiences were charmed by acrobatic moves to present day where choreography applies ballet, sports maneuvers, circus performances and other dance genres while still remaining authentic to its original philosophy. Yet, all over the world, hip hop crews are still largely ignored by the official art scene and denied opportunities to perform on national stages, except in France. With interviews from renowned choreographers Riyad Fghani, Anthony Egéa and Mourad Merzouk, viewers follow several of France's most prestigious dance crews."
History & Concept Of Hip Hop Dance The Street Culture that became a Global Expression
2009 "This documentary explores the history and scope of the hip-hop dance style. The movement is also studied as a global marketing phenomenon. Despite its popularity, hip-hop struggles to define its historical lineage, concept, origins, aesthetics, and generational acceptance. Discover how it was first introduced to mainstream America in the early 1970s as break dancing (or b-boying). Learn how hip-hop has evolved and where it's headed."

Dance in Video
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
Academic Video Online: Premium
AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage in all academic areas. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Filmakers Library Online
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Films On Demand
Provides streaming video for over 4,000 titles in the humanities and social sciences from the Films Media Group.

TriCollege Libraries Catalog
Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.
WorldCat
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.
New York Public Library Dance Catalog
Part of the New York Public Library, this catalog lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. Offers citation information for an international range of dance periodicals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.