Research Guides: EALC 230: Postwar Japanese Cinema and Visual Culture (HC/BMC): Journal Articles

Best Bets

General databases like JSTOR and ProQuest will yield a large number of results. But subject-specific databases like the Bibliography of Asian Studies will provide a smaller number of results. Try search in many databases for a good sense of what is out there. Feel free to contact Anna for help navigating these resources.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Arts and Humanities Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest full-text journal database, formerly known as "ProQuest Arts and Humanities Full Text" has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases. Subscribers to any of these databases - including ARTBibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, British Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography and Philosopher's Index amongst others - can link directly from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
Asian Film Online
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people's lives throughout the greater Asian region.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
The most important index for Film Studies. Offers citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews from film and television journals from 30 countries. The journals range from scholarly to popular titles. Covers the years between 1976-2001. (The print version of this index covers 1973-2004.)
FIAF (International Federation of Film Archives) Index to Film Periodicals Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index offering access to academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present, including the following databases: Index to Film Periodicals; Treasures from Film Archives; Documentation Collections; and FIAF affiliates' publications
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
Film Index International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on films from around the world, including production and cast information, plot summaries, background notes, awards listings, and citations to reviews and other secondary literature. Covers 1893 - present.